BCCI, Deodhar Trophy, India A, India B, India C
Getty Images

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced squads for the upcoming Deodhar Trophy. The tournament will be the platform for many star cricketers to make a way into the senior side, as it is set to begin on October 23rd. Recently ousted wicketkeeper-batsman, Dinesh Karthik will lead India A team while Shreyas Iyer and Ajinkya Rahane were named captains for India B and India C, respectively.

The performances in the Deodhar Trophy will furtherly help the youngsters to grab the spots in the Indian side against the Windies. With selectors naming squad for only initial two ODI games, BCCI would announce the squad for remaining three ODI matches based on Deodhar performance.

Deodhar Trophy, BCCI, India A, India B, India C
Dinesh Karthik. Credits: Twitter.

The likes of Mayank Agarwal, Washington Sundar, Prithvi Shaw will be on the selectors’ radar. Meanwhile, it will be the glorious chance for Dinesh Karthik to show his worth as the batsman as well.

Shreyas Iyer and Ajinkya Rahane would also like to press their case alongside Mohammed Siraj, Shahbaz Nadeem and Vijay Shankar. However, the selectors also named Ravichandran Ashwin and Karun Nair as well.

Another major inclusion in the tournament is Suresh Raina, who will be playing under Ajinkya Rahane for India C. Manoj Tiwary also finds the place after making his voice out on the selection procedure.

Suresh Raina,
Suresh Raina to play for India C(Credits – AFP)

All in all, each team has got the perfect balance in the side with the experienced skippers. It would be interesting to see how youngsters would approach the tournament.

Here are the squads:

India A: 

Dinesh Karthik (C & WK), Prithvi Shaw, Anmolpreet Singh, A R Easwaran, Ankit Bawne, Nitish Rana, Karun Nair, Krunal Pandya, R Ashwin, Shreyas Gopal, S Mulani, Mohammed Siraj, Dhawal Kulkarni, Siddarth Kaul

Ajinkya Rahane, Karanveer Kausal
Ajinkya Rahane. (Photo by Paul Kane/Getty Images)

India B: 

Shreyas Iyer (C), Mayank Agarwal, Rituraj Gaekwad, PS Chopra, Hanuma Vihari, Manoj Tiwary, Ankush Bains (WK), Rohit Rayudu, K Gowtham, Mayank Markande, S Nadeem, Deepak Chahar, Varun Aaron, Jaydev Unadkat

Deodhar Trophy: BCCI Announces Squads for India A, India B and India C

India C: 

Ajinkya Rahane (C), Abhinav Mukund, Shubman Gill, R Samarth, Suresh Raina, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan (WK), Vijay Shankar, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Pappu Roy, Navdeep Saini, R Gurbani, Umar Nazir


I just love what I script. Over the years, Cricket has been my passion and crisping articles on it gives me an immense pleasure...Cheers...!!!