ENG vs IND 2018: England Name Their Playing XI for the First Test

Published - 31 Jul 2018, 09:01 PM

he first Test will starts from August 1 at Edgbaston. Photo Credit: BCCI

Table of Contents


England Cricket team have included Adil Rashid in their playing XI for the first of the five-match Test series against India commencing from August 1 at Edgbaston.

Meanwhile, there has been a wide range of debate since the inclusion of the experienced spinner. Notably, Rashid opted out of the red-ball cricket while signing his contract for Yorkshire. Many slammed the decision terming it as ridiculous. However, now, Rashid will look to continue his limited-overs form and shut down all the speculations. The leg-spinner is coming back almost after 18 months with his last Test was also against India in Chennai.

The hosts, otherwise, have named a similar side with Alastair Cook and Keaton Jenning opening the innings. Cook, the highest run-scorer for England in Tests is coming back from a good form and will hope to continue it.

Adil Rashid Ajinkya Rahane
Adil Rashid makes a comeback to the Test side. Image Courtesy: Getty

Furthermore, they have named a solid middle-order with skipper Joe Root at one drop. Root has shown tremendous form in the ODI series which can be a deciding factor for this series. They also have Dawid Malan, Ben Stokes, Jonny Bairstow, and Jos Buttler in a jam-packed middle-order.

Bairstow and Buttler have been in the form of their life and will provide depth to the batting order. Moreover, Buttler’s ability to play spin well will also make him pivotal against India.

However, Malan and Stokes have struggled off late but has the ability to pose some serious threat. England will want to have Stokes in his superlative form with both bat and ball.

James Anderson will be key for England. Credit: Getty Images

The experienced duo of James Anderson and Stuart Broad will lead the pace attack. They know this conditions better than anybody else and will bring in their experience to win matches for their side. However, both of them is coming from an injury lay-off and will have to be careful about sustaining for the full series.

In conclusion, England will look to start the series on a high riding on their confidence after winning the ODI series.

Playing XI:

Alastair Cook, Keaton Jennings, Joe Root (c), Dawid Malan, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Adil Rashid, Stuart Broad, James Anderson.


Playing XI