England Announces 14-member squad for the ODI series against India

Published - 29 Jun 2018, 07:20 PM | Updated - 10 Jan 2019, 01:36 AM

Getty Images.

England has announced its 14-member squad for the ODI series against India. The England and Wales Cricket Board have recalled their talisman all-rounder Ben Stokes into the squad.

Stokes has recovered from the hamstring injury that had ruled him out of action from the second Test match against Pakistan. In fact, Stokes will play for Durham against Yorkshire on July 5. If he is able to prove his fitness, the linchpin can be in contention to play the final T20I on July 8 against India.

Ben Stokes. Credits: Getty Images.

Stokes returns to the England squad.

“Ben is a three-in-one player,” Paul Farbrace said ahead of the squad announcement. “He can bowl and he is the best fielder. You are going to bring him in as soon as he is available. It might mean another shift in your batting order but he’s not a bad bloke to be coming into your team.”

Thus, with Stokes coming back into the squad, Alex Hales position can be under the radar even after performing well against Australia. England will face off with India in three One-Day Internationals with the first one scheduled on July 12 at Trent Bridge.

Meanwhile, England limited overs side is in the form of its life. The Eoin Morgan led team had recently thrashed their arch-rivals Australia by a margin of 5-0.

Thus, the English side will aim to continue their prolific form against the Indian team. England will square off with India in a three-match T20I series before the One-Day series. The first T20I will be played on 3rd July.

Here is England’s ODI squad for the three-match series:

Eoin Morgan (capt), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Jos Buttler (wk), Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Mark Wood


India National Cricket Team ODI Squad