Fakhar Zaman
Zaman becomes the first Pakistani batsman to score the double hundred. Credit: Getty Images.

Pakistani opener Fakhar Zaman on Friday (July 20) tumbled various batting records during the penultimate One-day International of the five-match series. He along with his partner, Imam-ul-Haq broke all-time first-wicket partnership in the ODI history.

Both surpassed the previous best of 286 runs set by Sri Lankan pair Upal Tharanga and Sanath Jayasuriya against England in 2006.

Milestones by Fakhar Zaman:

Zaman scored an unbeaten 210 off just 156 deliveries which includes 24 boundaries and five gigantic sixes.

The southpaw became the first Pakistani batsman and sixth overall batsman to touch the mark of 200 runs. He first completed his ton off just 92 balls and then put his foot on the accelerator to achieve the milestone.

Fakhar Zaman
Fakhar Zaman has been a great asset for Pakistan: Getty Images

He holds now the record of highest score in ODI cricket by a Pakistani batsman surpassing 194 of Saeed Anwar. Anwar had scored 194 against India at Chennai on May 21, in 1997.

Zaman joins Elite Group:

Zaman joined an elite club of players which include Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Rohit Sharma, Chris Gayle and Martin Guptill. They are the only players who have smashed double-hundreds in ODIs. Sharma is the only player with three double centuries under his belt.

Fakhar Zaman
Zaman played a remarkable innings at Bulawayo. Credit: Twitter

Fakhar Zaman has taken just 17 innings to register his first double ton

Interestingly, there are only two left-handed batsmen in the list and both have scored their respected double tons against Zimbabwe.

Also, Zaman has now 980 runs in 17 innings. He needs 20 more in three innings – to become the fastest to 1000 runs in ODI history.

Fakhar Zaman
Photo Credit: AP

Sir Viv Richards hold this record is present as he had taken 21 innings to do so. Five others have done that in 21 innings.

It was also the third time in a row that Fakhar Zaman has carried the bat. He remained not out in the last three ODIs. He has the most runs in consecutive not out innings in ODIs (including the last score before getting out) with 370 runs (still not out).


Syed Yasir

I'm cricket enthusiast who has the passion to contribute in this beautiful sport by doing writing for it. I'm an ardent supporter of Misbah-ul-Haq, Suresh Raina and Hashim Amla. I'm a strong believer following...