Gautam Gambhir, Madan Lal Set To Be Named As Next CAC Members: Report

Gautam Gambhir, Madan Lal Set To Be Named As Next CAC Members: Report

Gautam Gambhir, Kings XI Punjab
Gautam Gambhir. Credits - BCCI

Former India World Cup-winning players Gautam Gambhir and Madan Lal are set to be named as the members of BCCI’s Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC), a report in PTI suggests. The update does come as a surprise but with many former cricketers reluctant to take up the post due to various reasons, the BCCI inked on the duo.

Also Read: Rohit Sharma Suffers Injury Scare Ahead Of Opening ODI Against Australia

Gambhir, who retired from the game in 2018, played 58 Tests, 147 ODIs and 37 T20Is. He also captained Team India in six ODIs. The former India opener played is best-remembered for his knock of 75 in the final of T20 World Cup and for his heroic 97 in the final of 2011 World Cup.

A member of 1983 World Cup-winning team, Madan played 39 Tests and 67 ODIs. At the domestic level, he played most of his cricket for Delhi. After retirement, he served as a member of the selection panel and as the coach of Team India. The report also adds that former India cricketer Sulakshana Naik will be the third member of CAC.

MSK Prasad, Farokh Engineer, Selection Panel
MSK Prasad (Credits: PTI)

The immediate job for CAC will be to pick a replacement for chief selector MSK Prasad. Apart from him, Gagan Khoda has also completed his five-year term and is set to be replaced. An official announcement regarding the appointment of the next CAC members is expected to be made after Tuesday.

Also Read: Ricky Ponting All Praise For Rohit Sharma, The Captain

The members of BCCI’s previous two CACs left their positions due to conflict of interest issue. In 2015, BCCI formed a CAC which included Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly and VVS Laxman. They held the honourary position for more than two years. In 2016, they chose Anil Kumble as Team India’s head coach while in 2017, the panel picked Ravi Shastri.

In 2018, BCCI had to form a new CAC – it included Kapil Dev, Mohinder Amarnath and Shantha Rangaswamy. The second CAC picked WV Raman as head coach of women’s team in December 2018. In Augst 2019, the panel reappointed Shastri as head coach of men’s team.

The three members of the panel left CAC after being served with the conflict of interest notices by BCCI’s Ethics Officer.