ICC Awards
ICC Awards

International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the nominees for different awards in the various categories. The winners of the awards will be announced on January 18.

Let’s have a look at various categories and nominations –

Heather Knight
(Photo by Shaun Botterill/Getty Images)

Fan moment of the year – In this category, there are four nominees. The first fan moment is the final of Women’s World Cup 2017 where England held its nerves to defeat India. The second nominee is again the final of an ICC event where Pakistan wrested ICC Champions Trophy from India.

Afghanistan and Ireland gaining Test status come third on ICC’s list while the Netherlands winning the World Cricket League Championship is the fourth one.

ICC Awards: ICC Announces Nominees in Various Categories

Associate player of the year award – The three nominees in this category are Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan, Ireland’s William Porterfield and Scotland’s Kyle Coetzer. Rashid Khan seems to be the favourite to win the award due to his bowling exploits in 2017.

ICC Awards: ICC Announces Nominees in Various Categories

Emerging player of the year – The third category of award function is dedicated to the youngsters.

In this category, Kuldeep Yadav, Hasan Ali, Shadab Khan and David Malan find a place. Kuldeep took a hat-trick in the year and had impressed everyone with his surprise factor. On the other hand, Hasan Ali was the highest wicket-taker in ODIs in 2017.

Shadab Khan made an immediate impact right from his debut by bagging two back to back Man of the Match awards in his first two international games. He also went on to play ODI and Test cricket the same year while Malan did well in Ashes series against Australia, to make it to this list.

Rohit Sharma, Ramiz Raja, Rolls-Royce, Hitman, Team India, Sri Lanka, Indore
Photo Credit: BCCI.

T20I performance of the year – In this category, there are quite bright performances given by the players. Starting from Rohit Sharma’s 35 ball century against Sri Lanka to Asela Gunaratne’s heroics against Australia in February. This list has quite brilliant performances in the shortest format of the game.

The other three nominees to win the award are Rashid Khan’s spell of 5/3, Yuzvendra Chahal’s spell of 25/6 and Evin Lewis’ match-winning century against India in the sole T20I of the series.

ICC Awards: ICC Announces Nominees in Various Categories

Sir Garfield Sobers Award – The best player in the year 2017 – as adjudged by ICC will be bestowed with this award. R Ashwin won this trophy last year.

ICC Awards: ICC Announces Nominees in Various Categories

David Shepherd Trophy for best umpire – The best umpire announced by a committee of ICC will emerge out as the winner. Last year, it was Marais Erasmus who won the award.

Teams – Along with awards, ICC will also announce ODI and Test teams of the year. In ODIs, there will be a competition between Virat Kohli and Sarfraz Ahmed for the captaincy post while Steven Smith might win the race for the post of captain of ICC’s Test team of the year.

Follow Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy here.

Video of the day –