Ben Stokes and Kane Williamson. Twitter

The International Cricket Council has revealed the team of the tournament. The governing body has come up with a potent side which has two Indian players in the list after England were crowned as the winners for the first time after defeating New Zealand in the final of the World Cup. ICC selected Jason Roy and Rohit Sharma as the two openers of the side.

Rohit Sharma was the leading run-scorer of the tournament as he scored 648 runs in the 10 matches at an impressive average of 81. The Indian opener Rohit Sharma scored five centuries in the tournament which is the most.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma. Twitter

It is a potent side.

Jason Roy scored 443 runs in the seven innings at an average of 63.29 and impressive strike rate of 115.36. Roy had scored a stunning knock of 85 runs from 65 balls in the semifinal contest against arch-rivals Australia.

Kane Williamson comes to bat at number three position in ICC team. Williamson is also made the captain of the side as he led the Kiwis to the final. The stylish right-hander scored 578 runs in the nine innings and he was awarded the Player of the tournament.

Joe Root takes the number four position in the ICC team of the tournament. Root was the fulcrum of England’s batting as the right-hander scored 556 runs at an average of 61.78.

Bangladesh talisman all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan gets the fifth place in the team. Hasan was the best all-rounder in the competition as he scored 606 runs at 86.57 whereas he scalped 11 wickets in the tournament.

ICC World Cup 2019: ICC Reveals Team Of The Tournament
Ben Stokes. Twitter

Ben Stokes was brilliant.

Ben Stokes, who was awarded the Man of the match in the final after scoring 84 runs, makes the cut into the playing XI. Stokes scored 465 runs in the tournament at 66.43 and scalped seven wickets in the 11 matches.

Alex Carey was undoubtedly the best wicketkeeper-batsman of the tournament. The southpaw Australian scored 375 in nine innings at an average of 62.50 and he was good behind the wickets.

Mitchell Starc also gets the place in the ICC team of the tournament. Starc was the leading wicket-taker with 27 scalps. In fact, Starc’s 27 wickets are the most wickets for any bowler in a single edition of the World Cup.

Jofra Archer and Jasprit Bumrah who scalped 20 and 18 wickets respectively make the cut into the final XI. Lockie Fergusson also get a place as he took 21 wickets and he was the second highest wicket-taker of the tournament.

Here is ICC Tweet:


Gautam Chauhan

Cricket is my first love. I want to be a wordsmith. I want to weave magic with my words.