CWC 2019: Krishnamachari Srikkanth Selects World Cup XI, Snubs Dhoni

ICC World Cup 2019: Krishnamachari Srikkanth Selects World Cup XI, No Place For MS Dhoni

Kris Srikkanth, Virender Sehwag
Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Former Indian opener Krishnamachari Srikkanth has selected his World Cup XI. Surprisingly, there is no place for India’s second World Cup winning captain, MS Dhoni. Dhoni is the most successful captain of the modern day game and he had led India to glory in the 2011 World Cup. Furthermore, Dhoni had led India to triumph in the 2007 T20 World Cup and the Champions Trophy 2013.

Meanwhile, Kris Srikkanth has picked former Australian wicketkeeper-batsman Adam Gilchrist and Indian legendary batsman Sachin Tendulkar. Tendulkar is the leading run-scorer in the World Cup as he had scored 2278 runs in the 45 matches. In fact, the former Indian opener had played in six World Cups and he was the most experienced batsman.

Sachin Tendulkar, Sir Vivian Richards
Sachin Tendulkar with Vivian Richards. (Credits – Twitter)

It is a potent side.

Why Adam Gilchrist? he can tear the bowling apart,” Srikanth said while explaining his decision.

Meanwhile, Krishnamachari Srikkanth picked Vivian Richards to play at the third position. Richards is regarded as one of the best batsmen to have embraced the game. Srikkanth stated that the West Indies star batter was the best he played against.

 “Probably the greatest ever batsman I have ever seen,” Srikkanth reckoned. 

ICC World Cup 2019: Krishnamachari Srikkanth Selects World Cup XI, No Place For MS Dhoni
Virat Kohli (Credits: Getty Images)

Meanwhile, Krishnamachari Srikkanth picked India’s current captain Virat Kohli to bat at number four position. Kohli is the most consistent batsman in the world and his records speak for himself. Furthermore, Kohli also completed 1000 runs in the World Cup recently in the match against Sri Lanka.

Srikkanth then picked former Australian captains, Steve Waugh and Ricky Ponting his World Cup XI team. Steve Waugh is regarded as one of the best captains and had led Australia to glory in 1999 World Cup. Moreover, Ricky Ponting has a great record and had taken Australia to two World Cup titles in 2003 and 2007.

On the other hand, India’s first World Cup winning captain Kapil Dev makes the cut into Srikkanth’s team. Wasim Akram, Malcolm Marshall and Glenn McGrath is the pace battery for Srikkanth’s team.

Gautam Chauhan

Cricket is my first love. I want to be a wordsmith. I want to weave magic with my words.