The International Cricket Councill have named Marais Erasmus and Kumar Dharmasena to officiate in the final of the World Cup 2019 set to be played between hosts England and New Zealand at Lord’s, London on 14th July. Both of these umpires had also officiated in the semifinal between England and Australia which the former won by eight wickets.

Meanwhile, Sri Lankan umpire Kumar Dharmasena had come under the scanner when he ruled Jason Roy out when there was no bat. Australia’s players had appealed and Dharmasena gave the decision in favour of the visitors.

Kumar Dharmasena Virender Sehwag
Kumar Dharmasena. (Photo by Mike Egerton/PA Images via Getty Images)

Dharmasena had made a blunder in the semifinal.

Roy who was batting on 85 runs was livid with the decision and gave his piece of the mind to the umpire. In fact, Roy also signalled for the review but he forgot that his opening partner Jason Roy had already used that luxury.

Furthermore, Dharmasena signalled to the third umpire as he too forgot that England has no reviews left. Thus, the umpiring standard hasn’t been up to the mark in the ongoing tournament.

Meanwhile, Australia’s Rod Tucker will be the third umpire. Moreover, Pakistan’s Aleem Dar will be the fourth official, the ICC said in a statement. Sri Lanka’s Ranjan Madugalle will be the match referee for the mega match between England and New Zealand. Both of these teams are yet to savour success in the World Cup event. Hence, we will have a new winner of the World Cup.

Marais Erasmus, Tim Paine, Australia vs India 2018
Marais Erasmus (Credits – Getty)

We will have a fresh World Cup winner.

In fact, all the officials appointed for the final were also in charge of the second semifinal between England and Australia.

Meanwhile, England was able to get the better of Australia whereas New Zealand stunned India to book the final berth. England was able to make their into the final of the event after a gap of 27 years. On the other hand, it is second consecutive final for the Kiwis.