Sri Lanka posted 203 runs after South Africa’s captain Faf du Plessis won the toss and decided to bowl first. Faf du Plessis’ decision to bowl first was proven right on the very ball of the innings when Kagiso Rabada bowled a bodyline short bowl to Dimuth Karunaratne. The Sri Lankan captain could not keep it out and the ball ballooned to Faf du Plessis.

Subsequently, Avishka Fernando and Kusal Perera added a partnership of 67 runs for the second wicket. Both the batter scored 30 each at a good rate to get back their team on track. However, both the batsmen were dismissed in quick succession.


South Africa was all over Sri Lanka.

Fernando tried to go big against Dwaine Pretorius and Faf du Plessis took a good catch while going back at mid-off. Furthermore, Perera dragged the ball back on to the stumps when he tried to cut the ball.

Angelo Mathews once again could not up with the scoring rate and took 29 balls for his 11 runs. The experienced batsman was dismissed when he chopped the ball back on to the stumps like Kusal Perera.

Kusal Mendis threw away one more start as he was dismissed after scoring 23 runs. Furthermore, Dananjaya de Silva gifted his wicket away when he tried to reverse sweep JP Duminy on the first ball the part-time spinner bowled.


South Africa was right on the money.

Jeevan Mendis took his time as he chewed 46 balls for his 18 runs before miscuing the pull against Chris Morris. Dwaine Pretorius was the pick of the bowlers as the medium pacer took three wickets and conceded only 25 runs in his 10 overs. Thisara Perera was dismissed after when he found Kagiso Rabada at deep square leg while attempting a pull shot against Andile Phehlukwayo.

Chris Morris and Kagiso Rabada scalped three and two wickets respectively whereas Andile Phehlukwayo and JP Duminy snared one wicket apiece.

Here is how Twitter reacted to Sri Lanka’s innings: