West Indies, West Indies Predicted XI
West Indies (Credits: Twitter)

West Indies finally opened their account in ICC Test Championship after beating England by four wickets in the first Test to go one nil up in the three-match series. Having lost both of their matches against India in their first and only Test Championship series so far, the Jason Holder-led side came up with a spirited show to beat England.

Jason Holder led the team from the front in the first innings, picking up six wickets as the visitors bowled out their fancied hosts for a modest 204. In reply, West Indies rode on fifties from Kraigg Brathwaite and Shane Dowrich to post 318 to take a handy lead of 114 runs.

England started well with the bat in the second innings. At 249 for 3, the hosts were looking set to put up a big total before they suffered an inexplicable collapse.  Holder triggered the collapse when he dismissed Ben Stokes to end the 98-run stand between him and Zak Crawley. From thereon, they kept losing wickets at regular intervals and were eventually all out for 313 to set West Indies a target of 200.

In reply, the tourists started on a poor note and lost Brathwaite and Shamarh Brooks for just 7 runs on the board. Shai Hope also failed to get going as he was sent back by Mark Wood for just 11. At 27 for 3, West Indies were losing their grip on the game before a 73-run stand between Roston Chase and Jermaine Blackwood steadied the ship.

Blackwood and Dowrich added 68 runs for the fifth wicket to all but seal the game for the team before the latter departed. With just 11 needed, Blackwood was sent back by Stokes for 95 before Jason Holder and John Campbell, who had to retire hurt earlier in the innings, took their team home.

Test Championship points table:

With the win, West Indies gained 40 points and moved about South Africa in the points table. The Caribbean outfit is now at the seventh spot in the nine-team competition. England, on the other hand, remained at third position with 146 points.

India continue to be at the top with 360 points followed by Australia and New Zealand. Bangladesh are now the only team who are yet to open their account in the champioship.

Here is the updated ICC World Test Championship Points Table:

Rank Team Series Played Matches Played Matches Won Matches Tied Matches Drawn Matches Lost Points
1 India 4 9 7 0 0 2 360
2 Australia 3 10 7 0 1 2 296
3 New Zealand 3 7 3 0 0 4 180
4 England 3* 10 5 0 1 3 146
5 Pakistan 2 5 2 0 1 2 140
6 Sri Lanka 2 4 1 0 1 2 80
7 West Indies 2* 3 1 0 0 2 40
8 South Africa 2 7 1 0 0 6 24
9 Bangladesh 1 3 0 0 0 3 0

Also Read: MS Dhoni’s Achievements As Captain Is Something Every Captain Dreams Of: Kumar Sangakkara

Also Read: Which Captain Left Behind A Better Team? Gautam Gambhir Reveals His Pick Between Sourav Ganguly And MS Dhoni