India Set To Host ICC Women's World Cup In 2025

Updated - 27 Jul 2022, 01:02 AM

India Set To Host ICC Women's World Cup In 2025. PC- Getty
India Set To Host ICC Women's World Cup In 2025. PC- Getty

India is all set to host the ICC Women’s World Cup in 2025, which will be the fourth time they will be hosting the mega event. Previously, India hosted the Women’s World Cup in 1978, 1997, and 2013. Australia won the tournament on all three occasions.

Apart from this, the host nations for every major ICC Women’s tournament between 2024-2027 have been confirmed during the ongoing ICC Annual Conference in Birmingham. The ICC has announced that four women’s tournaments will take place in four years, starting with the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024, which will take place in Bangladesh.

This will be the first time Bangladesh will host a major women’s ICC tournament, but they have previously hosted the inaugural men’s Knock Out Trophy in 1998 and then co-hosted the 2011 World Cup with India and Sri Lanka.

India Women's Team. PC-SLC
India Women’s Team. PC-SLC

England meanwhile will host the 2026 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, while Sri Lanka, subject to their qualifying for the tournament, will host the inaugural Women’s Champions Trophy in 2027.

The inaugural edition of the Women’s ICC Champions Trophy will be based on the T20 format. It will be held in February 2026, with six teams competing for the trophy across 16 matches.

India To Host Its Fifth ICC Women’s Event And Fourth World Cup

India will be hosting the 2025 ICC Women’s World Cup, which will be their fourth time hosting the eminent ICC event and fifth time overall hosting an ICC event. This will its first global women’s tournament since 2016 when the T20 World Cup ran parallel to the men’s event.

ICC Women's ODI World Cup 2022
ICC Women’s ODI World Cup 2022. Image Credits: Twitter

The 2025 edition is set to be similar to the 2022 edition, with eight teams taking part and playing a total of 31 matches.

The ICC has decided to increase the number of teams taking part in the T20 World Cup, with 12 teams set to play 33 matches during the 2026 edition, which will be held for the first time in England.

The tournament hosts were picked through a competitive bidding process. The process was overseen by a Board sub-committee chaired by Martin Snedden, along with Sourav Ganguly and Ricky Skerritt.

Also Read: WI vs IND 2022: He’s Not Even The 3rd Choice – Pragyan Ojha On Shubman Gill; Slams Him For His Dismissals Thus Far


ICC ICC Women's World Cup India