Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli (Credits: Twitter)

After beating Bangladesh comprehensively in the T20I series, high-flying India will be looking to continue their winning run in the first Test. India have won all of their five Tests in the ongoing ICC World Test Championship and are favourite to extend the winning run. The hosts haven’t lost a Test series at home since the defeat to England in the 2012-13 season. During this phase, they have won a world record 11 consecutive series at home.

Want to be a professional cricketer?
Register Now

*T&C Apply

Playing in India has always been tough for the oppositions and the current time is perhaps the toughest. the Virat Kohli-led side has looked almost invincible at home. The way the hosts recently thrashed South Africa, Bangladesh need to play out of their skin to even challenge them let alone winning or drawing a game.

Bangladesh are having a tough time in 2019 as far as Tests are concerned. They have lost each of the three games they’ve played – including one against Afghanistan at home. The absence of former skipper Shakib Al Hasan and Tamim Iqbal has further dented their chances. Bangladesh did manage to surprise India in the first T20I but it will take a lot more from them to repeat the result in the first Test.

Toss Report:

Bangladesh have won the toss and decided to bat first against India at the Holkar Stadium in Indore.

Here is what the captains said:

Mominul Haque:

“We will bat first. It’s a bit hard and it might break in fourth innings. It’s a great honour to captain Bangladesh.”

Virat Kohli:

“It has a bit of grass on it and historically Indore on day 1 has been bit spicy plus we are playing three seamers. We wanted to bowl first but we also want batsmen to bat in tough conditions. It’s ideal for our seamers who are in top form. I think, from day 2 onwards it will be a beautiful track to bat on. Nadeem is not a part of this eleven and Ishant replaces him purely on the basis of the pitch.”

Playing elevens:


Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma


Imrul Kayes, Shadman Islam, Mohammad Mithun, Mominul Haque(c), Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Liton Das(w), Mehedy Hasan, Taijul Islam, Abu Jayed, Ebadat Hossain


An avid cricket lover, I just love this game more than anything. Writing about cricket keeps me closer to the game.