India Vs Sri Lanka, 2017 Toss Report Third T20I Wankhede Mumbai

India Vs Sri Lanka: Toss Report – Third T20I, Mumbai

India Vs Sri Lanka, Wankhede, Mumbai, Toss Report, Third T20I, Rohit Sharma,
India Vs Sri Lanka, 2017: Toss time at Wankhede. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

In a dead rubber of India Vs Sri Lanka of the three-match Twenty20 International (T20I) match, India won the toss and decided to bowl first at the Wankhede Stadium on Sunday (December 24) evening.

While playing under the leadership of interim skipper Rohit Sharma, the hosts are looking to whitewash the hosts, but on the other side, toothless Lions are aiming to salvage some pride by giving their best to challenge the third-ranked ICC ODI team.

(Read Also: India Vs Sri Lanka: 3rd T20I, Mumbai – Match Prediction )

Pertinently, the Men in Blue have already won the series, as the remainder of the fixture could further decide whether the hosts would be able to complete the clean sweep thoroughly.

To further talk about the changes, Washington Sundar has been handed over a debut T20I cap by one of the members of the selection committee Sarandeep Singh, who was former Indian batsman.

The fast-bowler Mohammed Siraj has replaced wily customer Jasprit Bumrah and leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal made his way for spin-bowling all-rounder Sundar.

The 23-year-old Hyderabad-based seam-bowler Siraj has already played a solitary T20I fixture against New Zealand at Rajkot in which he was expensive and went on to concede 53 runs for claiming the lone wicket of Kane Williamson.

On the other side, the new faces would be eyeing to give their best, as the Islanders have a lot to prove to finish this rigorous tour on a high.

Thisara Perera

(Read Further: Mahendra Singh Dhoni – The falcon of Indian Cricket)

However, Lanka is already languishing on the bottom half-of-the table owing to the T20I ranking charts while maintaining the eight spot.

Quotes from Captains:

Rohit Sharma said while leading national team for the first time at his home ground: “We are looking to field. Don’t think it will change a lot. Just wanted to change it a bit, we’ve been batting first. This time of year, any ground in India, there will be dew factor. Want to come out here and have good fun. Will be a great crowd, Mumbai is known for that. Two changes. Washington Sundar will make his debut and Siraj comes in.”

Thisara Perera said: “Toss doesn’t matter, have to stick to our plans. Already told my teammates to give 100% and keep their confidence up. Hope the boys can do something special tonight. Kusal and Tharanga are really big hitters. We have good options with these two. Two changes. Gunathilaka and Shanaka in for de Silva and Mathews.”

Playing XI of both the Teams:

Team India

Rohit Sharma (skipper), Lokesh Rahul, MS Dhoni (gloveman), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat and Mohammed Siraj.

Team Sri Lanka:

Niroshan Dickwella (gloveman), Upul Tharanga, Kusal Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Asela Gunaratne, Dasun Shanaka, Thisara Perera (skipper), Akila Dananjaya, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep

Tahir Ibn Manzoor

Tahir Ibn Manzoor is a staffer at Cricket Addictor, who follows cricket like food and he has a great affection for the long-form journalism. He Tweets @TahirIbnManzoor