Virat Kohli, India vs Windies 2018
India captain Virat Kohli scored his 38th ODI hundred against the Windies. Image Courtesy: BCCI

During the third ODI against the Windies Pune, India captain Virat Kohli hit his 38th ODI hundred, though the hosts lost the game by 43 runs. Meanwhile, in due course, India’s run-machine unlocked yet another achievement mode. However, earlier in the day, Virat won the toss and elected to bowl first. Jasprit Bumrah made a good comeback, as he picked up four wickets in the match.

King Kohli enters in record books

Meanwhile, Windies batsman, Shai Hope who made a brilliant century in the second ODI missed his third century in the third match of the ODI series. However, Windies posted a respectable total of 283 runs with the loss of nine wickets at the end of 50th overs.

While chasing down the target, India lost Rohit Sharma in the second over itself. Jason Holder, Windies captain, bowled an excellent delivery to get rid-off India’s vice-captain. Later, in-form Virat Kohli and Shikhar Dhawan added 79 runs for the second wicket.

Virat Kohli, India vs Windies 2018
Virat Kohli unlocked an achievement mode during the Pune ODI. Image Courtesy: BCCI


Moreover, Windies bowler started picking up wickets at regular interval while Virat Kohli added his name to another record list. He became the batsman who scored a century in most consecutive innings in a country. Meanwhile, Babar Azam from Pakistan is leading the table who scored five times in the UAE in the 2016-17 season.

In addition to that, the 29-year-old Virat added his name to the third position. He scored four consecutive century in India in the 2017-18 season. The India captain recently became the batsman to reach 10,000 ODI runs in the least number of innings, surpassing legendary Sachin Tendulkar.


Meanwhile, Virat Kohli has been in sensational form, as he notched up his 38th ODI ton.

Here are the lists of 100s in most consecutive innings in a country:

5 Babar Azam in UAE, 2016-17

4 AB de Villiers in Ind, 2010-11

4 Virat Kohli in Ind 2017-18 *

3 Zaheer Abbas in Pak, 1982-83

3 Saeed Anwar in UAE, 1993

3 Q de Kock in SA, 2013

3 K Sangakkara in Aus, 2015

Arijit Chatterjee

An avid sports lover