Prev1 of 12

Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the successful sports leagues at present. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) launched this yearly tournament in 2008, and since then it has been played with immense popularity.

Six or over-boundary is one of the most exciting parts in every cricket format, especially in T20 cricket. The IPL fans daily witness a huge number of sixes. At the end of every IPL season, the leader of most sixes wins the Maximum Sixes Award.

Read More: IPL 2019: Watch: Ravichandran Ashwin Gives an Abusive Send-off to Virat Kohli Before Kohli Returns the Favour

Here we are briefly discussing the total number of sixes in every IPL season.


IPL 2008

Total number of sixes, IPL
Sanath Jayasuriya (Image Credit: Google)

IPL 2008 was the inaugural edition of the tournament where eight teams participated, and a total of 59 matches were played. A total of 95 batsmen hit sixes in that inaugural IPL edition. At the end of that tournament, the total number of sixes tally went to 619. Mumbai Indians (MI) cricketer Sanath Jayasuriya (31 sixes) won the Maximum Sixes Award in that IPL edition.

Prev1 of 12