IPL 2018: Harbhajan Singh Hails Shane Watson on Twitter After CSK's Third IPL Triumph
Shane Watson. Credits: BCCI

Chennai Super Kings cricketer, Harbhajan Singh is elated with his team’s win against Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2018 final.

The result meant Chennai managed to clinch the title for the third time in the history.

The title is sweeter, considering their comeback after a two-year ban. Although Bhajji did not get into the final team, the veteran was happy with the way his side won the game. Having won the toss, Chennai Super Kings asked Sunrisers to bat first.

Even though they started slow, the Hyderabad batsmen were quite effective with their partnerships and increased the scoring rate impressively.

Captain Kane Williamson stood out in the initial phase, while Yusuf Pathan fired Sunrisers score to 178/6 in their 20 overs.

IPL 2018: Harbhajan Singh Hails Shane Watson on Twitter After CSK's Third IPL Triumph
Yusuf Pathan of the Sunrisers Hyderabad plays a shot during the Final of the Vivo Indian Premier League 2018 (IPL 2018) between the Chennai Super Kings and the Sunrisers Hyderabad held at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on the 27th May 2018. Photo by: Vipin Pawar /SPORTZPICS for BCCI

Asked to chase a 179 on a tricky wicket, Bhuvneswar Kumar started off impressively well.

Both Faf du Plessis and Shane Watson found it difficult to get going. However, once the ball became little old, the Australian started attacking quality bowlers mercilessly. He always kept the asking rate below ten and ensured quick runs, as he eventually killed off the game with some overs to spare.

In the process, Shane Watson also managed to get an unbeaten hundred, as Chennai cruised to victory. Harbhajan Singh clicked a selfie with the Australian after the game and posted it on his twitter. His tweet read,

“We did it!!! #ShaneWatson u absolute champ! ? What a fantastic innings! @ChennaiIPL are the champions ?? Time for celebrations now! #WhistlePodu ???”

Chennai Manage Their Third IPL Title

With the win at Wankhede, Chennai Super Kings became the most successful team in the history of IPL. They have now managed to win three IPL titles apart from the other four finals they reached.

Only Mumbai Indians have so far managed to win three titles. The feat is more impressive considering they were banned for the past couple of seasons. The franchise’s theme of keeping the core group of players had paid off eventually.

Although many thought the team are too old to achieve the title, Chennai Super Kings proved the doubters wrong once again and once again lifted the coveted IPL title this season.