The Gayle storm finally hit the eleventh edition of the Indian Premier League on Thursday (April 19).

The most decorated batsman was signed up by Kings XI Punjab at the very end of the auction, and he is now thoroughly repaying the faith.

After being benched for the first two games, he played his first game against Chennai Super Kings and scored a quickfire 63. In the following match against Sunrisers Hyderabad, he did it even better by playing an unbeaten knock of 104. The stunning knock was studded with as many as 11 sixes and a solitary four.

With Gayle’s stunning six-hitting exploit forcing the statisticians to dig up the stats, here we look at some of the knocks which made it to the record books for the number of sixes hit during a single inning:

8. Chris Gayle (11 sixes against SRH):

Credits: BCCI

The most decorated batsman in the history of the T20 format has almost all the major batting records to his name.

And he added yet another feather to his already illustrious cap by smashing a brilliant 104 not out against Kings XI Punjab in Mohali.

The innings contained 11 sixes, helping Gayle take the eighth position on this list. The innings included only one four which pretty much sums up the pain the opposition bowlers went through.

7. Murali Vijay (11 sixes against RR)

Murali Vijay tore into the Rajasthan Royals attack at the Chepauk with his stunning knock of 127 off just 56 balls. The knock contained 11 sixes and as many as eight fours.

Here is a clip showing that monumental knock from the right-hander:

6. Sanath Jayasuriya (11 sixes against CSK)

Credits: Indian Express.

Former Sri Lanka skipper Sanath Jayasuriya is also on this list for hitting 11 number of sixes.

The batting legend achieved the feat against Chennai Super Kings in the inaugural season when he smashed 114 himself in a run chase of a mere 159.

Here is a clip of that whirlwind knock:

5. Chris Gayle:

Considering Gayle’s six-hitting abilities, it is not surprising to see his name pop out on the list again. The southpaw is at this position in this list is because of his 57-ball 117 runs knock against Kings XI Punjab.

The knock was studded with 12 sixes, helping Gayle take the fifth position too in the list.

4. AB de Villiers (12 sixes against GL)

When it comes to hitting the ball over the ropes, there are very few who can do it better than AB de Villiers.

The South Africa star is on this list for his stunning 52-ball 129 runs knock against Gujarat Lions in 2016. During the course of the innings, he hit as many as 12 sixes.

3. Chris Gayle (13 sixes against Delhi Daredevils):

Are you thinking of naming the list as Chris Gayle list? Well, no one will blame you for that, as Gayle has found another mention on this list and is all set for one more mention.

He took this position for his stunning century against Delhi Daredevils in 2012. He scored 128 not out off  62 balls with the help of 13 sixes.

2. Brendon McCullum (13 sixes against RCB):

The Indian Premier League could not have started on a better note in 2008. In its inaugural game played between Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers Bangalore, Brendon McCullum hogged all the limelight for his monumental knock of 158. The knock contained as many as 13 sixes.

Here is a video showing that knock:

1. Chris Gayle (17 sixes against PWI)

Gayle deservedly takes the numero uno position in this list, and he achieved it for his historic knock of 175 against Pune Warriors India in 2013.

The knock came off just 175 balls and contained a staggering 17 sixes.

Here’s a look at the honourable mentions.

Pos Player Runs BF 4s 6s SR Against Venue
1 Chris Gayle RCB 175 66 13 17 265.15 PWI M. Chinnaswamy Stadium
2 Brendon McCullum KKR 158 73 10 13 216.43 RCB M. Chinnaswamy Stadium
3 Chris Gayle RCB 128 62 7 13 206.45 DD Feroz Shah Kotla Ground
4 AB de Villiers RCB 129 52 10 12 248.07 GL M. Chinnaswamy Stadium
5 Chris Gayle RCB 117 57 7 12 205.26 KXIP M. Chinnaswamy Stadium
6 Sanath Jayasuriya MI 114 48 9 11 237.5 CSK Wankhede Stadium
7 Murali Vijay CSK 127 56 8 11 226.78 RR Chidambaram
8 Chris Gayle KXIP 104* 63 1 11 165.08 SRH PCA Stadium
8 Adam Gilchrist DC 109 47 9 10 231.91 MI DY Patil Stadium
9 Yuvraj Singh RCB 68 29 1 9 234.48 DD M. Chinnaswamy Stadium
10 Rishabh Pant DD 97 43 6 9 225.58 GL Feroz Shah Kotla Ground