IPL 2020: Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings - Toss Report

IPL 2020: Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings – Toss Report

MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma
MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma [Photo-Getty]

The day is finally here. After a long wait, uncertainty and speculations, the thirteenth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2020) is finally starting with a mouth-watering clash between last year’s finalists – Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings.

IPL 2020 was scheduled to take place between March and May this year but had to  be postponed in the wake of the coronavirus outbreak. But thanks to the persistent efforts from the BCCI and the franchises, IPL 2020 is going ahead despite the critical pandemic situation.

Barring few players from England, Australia and West Indies and few others, most of the players will be marking their return to competitive cricket through the IPL and will be looking to hit the ground running.

Talking about the tournament-opener, Mumbai Indians will be looking to continue their dominating run against Chennai Super Kings in recent years. Ever since Rohit Sharma took over captaincy at Mumbai Indians, the head-to-head record between the two franchises is 10-6 in favour of the Mumbai-based outfit.

Chennai Super Kings, on the other hand, will be looking to avenge their loss in the last year’s final and would be keen to start on a good note after suffering several setbacks in recent times. They have already lost Suresh Raina and Harbhajan Singh and the onus will be on MS Dhoni to steer the side to a good outing once again.

Given the way both the teams have performed against each other in recent times, one could not have asked for a better game to start IPL 2020. So let’s keep our fingers crossed and hope that this cracking rivalry churns out another classic in IPL.

Toss report:

Chennai Super Kings have won the toss and have decided to bowl first against Mumbai Indians in the first match of IPL 2020.

Playing elevens:

Chennai Super Kings:

Murali Vijay, Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni(w/c), Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Curran, Deepak Chahar, Piyush Chawla, Lungi Ngidi

Mumbai Indians:

Rohit Sharma (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Saurabh Tiwary, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, James Pattinson, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah