IPL 2020: Yashasvi Jaiswal Keen To Learn From Steve Smith, Ben Stokes

IPL 2020: Yashasvi Jaiswal Keen To Learn From Steve Smith, Ben Stokes

Yashasvi Jaiswal
Yashasvi Jaiswal (Credits: Twitter)

Yashasvi Jaiswal proved his potential in the U-19 World Cup and wants to continue learning. Though, the Indian colts could not bag the World Cup, he contributed to the fore. Jaiswal was the most run scorer in the tournament and also picked up crucial wickets. He will be one of the young talents to watch out for in the IPL 2020.

Jaiswal will share the Rajasthan Royals dressing room with Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler and Steve Smith. The youngster is keen to pick up their brains and learn from them. He said that they have a lot of experience across formats and he looking to apply the same to himself.

Rajasthan Royals, Steven Smith, IPL 2018, IPL 11, Team Anthem, Phir Halla Bol
Steven Smith will represent Barbados Tridents in CPL. Credit: BCCI

“I am looking to learn as much as I can from the senior players around me. They have a lot of experience across formats, something I am looking to consume and apply to myself. There is a big difference between U-19 cricket and senior-level cricket and I’ll probably have to start from scratch,” Yashasvi Jaiswal  said.

Jaiswal was bought for Rs.2.40 crore by Rajasthan Royals in the IPL 2020 auction. The Jaipur franchise bagged the deal after there was an intense bidding against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP).

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid
Yashasvi Jaiswal (Credits: Twitter)

IPL 2020 will be played entirely in UAE due to the pandemic situation forcing the cricket board to host the tournament away from India. Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and Sharjah will be the three venues used for the tournament. Dream 11 have been named as the sponsor for the upcoming season of the tournament after VIVO pulled out.

All the franchise have arrived in UAE with some of the foreign players still to join the squad. Players from England and Australia will join their respective franchises once their ongoing three-match T20I series concludes.