IPL, IPL 2020: 3 Overseas Players Who've Represented Only IPL Franchise, Bowlers, IPL, Most Dot Balls In A Single IPL Season, IPL 2020
Lasith Malinga. Credit: BCCI

Last Update on: January 3rd, 2020 at 05:18 pm

Recently updated on January 3rd, 2020 at 05:18 pm

The inception of Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2008 have helped many cricketers to grab the eyeballs of the world rubbing shoulders with the greatest of the game. Meanwhile, the shortest format of the game has been favourable to the batters leaving very less opportunity for the bowlers. With short boundaries to batting-friendly wickets, the bowlers are always at the receiving end. But over the years in IPL, we have seen many bowlers taking the centre stage and doing it for their franchise.

IPL introduced two unique awards – Orange Cap and Purple Cap for the highest run-scorer and highest wicket-taker of the season respectively. The players get to wear that cap during matches when he is the highest run-scorer or wicket-taker. Over the years, we have witnessed many cricketers winning that illustrious award and taking home a well-designed cap.

On that context, let us take a look at all the Purple Cap holders in the history of IPL:



Pakistan cricketers featured only in the inaugural season of the IPL. And for some like Sohail Tanvir, that year will forever be etched in his heart. Rajasthan Royals won the first IPL trophy ever, and Tanvir played a crucial role in their victorious campaign.

A left-arm fast bowler with an unusual action, Tanvir was a rare commodity till then. With a good slower ball up his sleeves, h would often fox the batsmen easily. Tanvir picked up 22 wickets from 11 matches and went home with the Purple Cap as he was the leading wicket-taker of that season. He proved to be a go-to bowler for Shane Warne in that season.


Getty Images

RP Singh was best known for his inswingers to find the gap between the pad and the bat. He was an epitome of swing bowling and was at his best during the 2008-09 season. During that time, he led Deccan Chargers to their first IPL trophy in 2009.

Singh bagged 23 wickets from 16 matches during their victorious campaign and shelled runs at an economy rate of only 6.98. He did a terrific job in the final giving only 16 runs from his four overs and picking the wicket of Jacques Kallis.


5 Players who are IPL Products
Getty Images

On the back of some outstanding efforts in the domestic season, Deccan Chargers roped in the left-arm spinner in the first season of the IPL. However, after having two mild editions, Pragyan Ojha was at his personal best in 2010.

Ojha made sure that the money invested in him by the franchise and live upto the expectations by performing consistently for them. He won the hearts of the fans as he grabbed the Purple Cap at the end of the IPL 2010 for his 21 wickets that season.


Lasith Malinga, Indian Premier League 2019

Lasith Malinga is one of the best limited-overs bowlers to have played the cricket game. With his variations and unique actions, he has done wonders for Mumbai Indians over the years. However, 2011 remains the best for him when he almost led Mumbai to the title.

He returned with a total of 28 wickets in that season which is the second-best performance by a bowler in the history of IPL after Dwayne Bravo. He bowled at a staggering economy rate of 5.95 taking home the Purple Cap.



Delhi Daredevil, now known as Delhi Capitals have had some top-class players in their ranks despite not being so successful as a team. They have witnessed individual players making a mark in the tournament, and Morne Morkel was one such player during the 2012 season of IPL.

The South African fast bowler picked 25 wickets in that whole season taking his side to the playoff stage. However, they bowed out from there. Although his economy was a bit on the higher side, Morkel’s wicket-taking spree powered Capitals to finish on top of the points table.


Dwayne Bravo IPL 2018

Chennai Super Kings have been the most consistent team in the IPL and Dwayne Bravo has been a great servant for them. His ability to contribute in all the departments have made him one of the most sought cricketers around the globe in this format.

Meanwhile, Bravo was at his personal best for the Super Kings during the 2013 season of IPL when he bagged 32 wickets – which is the highest any cricketer has picked in one season. Although Chennai didn’t win the title that season, Bravo’s effort will always be in the heart of the cricket lovers.


IPL 2019, Chennai Super Kings, Mohit Sharma

The emergence of Mohit Sharma in the IPL and then going onto represent the national team should be credited to MS Dhoni. He has nurtured him very well and brought the best out of him during the seventh season of the cash-rich tournament.

Hailing from Punjab, Mohit had a good back of the hand slower ball which helped him gain strides in the jam-packed Chennai line up. He responded well returning with 23 wickets from 16 matches to win the Purple Cap that season.


IPL: List of Purple Cap Winners in all the Seasons

After his scintillating efforts in 2014, Dwayne Bravo was once again at his best during the 2015 season of IPL. The Windies all-rounder once again led Chennai’s bowling unit with his slower deliveries and yorkers in the middle and death overs.

Bravo claimed a total of 24 wickets in just 16 matches to win the Purple Cap for the second time. He is the only overseas cricketer to achieve this feat.



One of the reliable limited-overs bowlers during that period, Bhuvneshwar Kumar led the Sunrisers Hyderabad bowling in the 2016 season. He did wonders with the ball and eventually helped them lift the title beating Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final.

Bhuvneshwar picked 23 wickets from 16 games and was economical throughout the season. He did a great job keeping the heavyweight Bangalore batting in check during the finals which Hyderabad eventually won by eight runs.


IPL: List of Purple Cap Winners in all the Seasons

Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the only bowler in the history of IPL to win two Purple Caps in consecutive season. After his out of world efforts in 2016, Kumar came back in 2017 to repeat the job what he does best.

Bhuvneshwar grabbed 26 wickets during the 10th edition of IPL which remained as the highest by any bowler in that season. He has been one of the greatest servants of Sunrisers Hyderabad over the years.


IPL: List of Purple Cap Winners in all the Seasons

Kings XI Punjab will curse themselves to lose the track midway in the 2018 season of IPL. They boasted some big names like KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, Andrew Tye, and Ravichandran Ashwin who did well individually but failed to come out good as a unit.

The tall and lanky fast bowler from Australia impressed all the fans with his typical ability to chip in with wickets during crunch situations. Tye picked 24 wickets from his 14 matches including three four-wicket hauls. However, Tye failed to replicate his efforts in this season and was an absolute failure.


IPL: List of Purple Cap Winners in all the Seasons

Imran Tahir has impressed with each passing season and this season of IPL was no different. He turned out to be a match-winner for Chennai Super Kings, and his trademark celebration was the talk of the town during the last two months.

The veteran South African spinner overhauled his countrymen Kagiso Rabada to win the Purple Cap in the final match against Mumbai Indians where he returned with two wickets. Tahir returned with 26 wickets from 17 games at an economy rate of 6.69 forging Chennai to finals of the tournament.

Ankush Das

I am an accountant by qualification, my parents thought their obedient son would study further to become a CA, but I had other things in mind. An ardent Cricket fan is following his passion and making...