Lanka Premier League Trophy 2022
Lanka Premiere League Trophy 2022. Pic Credits: Twitter.

Last Update on: March 27th, 2023 at 08:33 pm

Stay up-to-date with the latest teams!
Join our Telegram channel and never miss a single lineup change post-toss. 🔄📢 telegram

The upcoming edition of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) is set to take place from 31st July to 22nd August 2023. Jaffna Kings (*in 2020, Jaffna Stallions) have been the most successful team in Lanka Premier League where they have all the 3 titles. The peculiarity of LPL is that they are competitive wickets.

Avishka Fernando of the Jaffna Kings franchise was the highest run scorer in LPL 2022 where he scored 339 runs in 10 matches. It won’t be wrong to say that the likes of Kusal Mendis & Avishka Fernando were the biggest positives of the Lanka Premier League. Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) would be hoping that the players get accustomed to tricky scenarios in crunch matches after a disappointing ICC T20 WC 2022.

IPL 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

LPL has got a pretty good response from the overseas players where the likes of the Caribbean, England & Pakistan players can be seen in the league. Carlos Braithwaite was the leading wicket-taker in the 2022 edition for Kandy Falcons where he took 18 wickets in 8 matches. Kandy Falcons suffered a heart-wrenching defeat in Lanka Premier League 2022 final where Jaffna Kings won the match by 2 wickets.

Read More  Shubman Gill And Shardul Thakur Ruled Out Of India vs Australia 3rd ODI, Here's Why

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has also introduced a new T10 league which is scheduled to take place in June 2023 where we can expect a riveting couple of months for the island nation. For the first time, the LPL edition is going to take place in July as the last 3 editions were held in December.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team Chennai Super Kings (CSK) | Delhi Capitals (DC) | Gujarat Titans (GT) | Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) | Lucknow Supergiants (LSG) | Mumbai Indians (MI) | Punjab Kings (PBKS) | Rajasthan Royals (RR) | Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) | SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH)

Lanka Premier League Tournament Director on LPL

Mr. Samantha Dodanewala revealed that the Lanka Premier League 2023 would take place in July-August 2023. He also confirmed that LPL doesn’t disturb Sri Lanka’s home season & was pretty sure that overseas players would participate in the league.

“We have decided to hold the tournament during July and August this year, as conducting the tournament during this period gives us the best possible opportunity to attract top international talent and also suits well with Sri Lanka’s international cricket calendar,” said Mr. Samantha Dodanewala.

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) will have to monitor the players’ workload as Asia Cup 2023 & ODI WC 2023 are scheduled later in the year. There are chances that Sri Lanka may play ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2023 in June-July if they don’t win the remaining 2 ODI matches against New Zealand as they are placed in 10th position with 77 points.

Read More  Asia Cup 2023 Time Table, Asia Cup Schedule 2023

Also Read: “Virender Sehwag Was The Most Dangerous Player”- Abdul Razzaq Opens Up On India’s Toughest Cricketer

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah