List Of Teams To Have Won Fairplay Of The Season Awards In IPL

List Of Teams To Have Won Fairplay Of The Season Awards In IPL

Dwayne Bravo, MS Dhoni, Brian Lara
MS Dhoni. Photo Credit: IPL/BCCI.
Prev1 of 13

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is the biggest T20 league in the world. There are bound to be altercations and verbal duels because of the high-intensity contests. But there are also players and teams which have carried themselves with grace and played in the spirit of the game, respecting the sport and the opposition.

Hence, the BCCI and the IPL council decided to introduce the fair play award to teams according to how they adhere to the “spirit of the game”. The umpires award the points after each match.

Fairplay award winners for each season in the IPL:

2008-Chennai Super Kings

MS Dhoni, Rishabh Pant, CSK, IPL 2019
Image Courtesy: Getty

The inception of the IPL embarked the world on a new and glorious journey in cricket which changes the course of the game altogether. Led by the 2007 ICC T20 World Cup winner, MS Dhoni, Chennai Super Kings lost the final to Shane Warne’s Rajasthan Royals. However, CSK were on top of the fair play chart. Players like Stephen Fleming, Mike Hussey, Lakshmipathy Balaji along with captain cool showed everyone the manner to conduct themselves after losing the final.

Prev1 of 13