No Player From CSK And KKR As Nasser Hussain Announces His IPL 2020 Team Of The Tournament

No Player From CSK And KKR As Nasser Hussain Announces His IPL 2020 Team Of The Tournament

Nasser Hussain
Nasser Hussain (Credits: Twitter)

Former England captain Nasser Hussain has revealed his IPL 2020 Team of the Tournament. IPL 2020 came to an end earlier this week with Mumbai Indians winning a record fifth title. In the final, the Rohit Sharma-led side beat Delhi Capitals by five wickets while chasing 157.

No players from Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders feature in Nasser Hussain’s lineup. He has included as many as five Mumbai Indians players in his team along with two from Delhi Capitals and one each from Kings XI Punjab, SunRisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Rajasthan Royals.

Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians with the IPL 2020 Trophy (Credits: Twitter/IPL)

The former cricketer has picked KL Rahul and Shikhar Dhawan as the openers of the team and has also named the former as captain. With 670 runs, Rahul finished the season as the highest run-scorer, followed by Dhawan who scored 618 runs with the help of two centuries.

“It’s not just the runs they get. These two openers are so pleasing on the eye. T20 is about muscle and hitting the ball but it’s also about stroking the ball and Dhawan and Rahul had magnificent tournaments,” Nasser Hussain told Sky Sports.

“Rahul, I think, is one of the best white-ball players going at the moment. He is a good lesson for any young boy or girl about how to stroke a cricket ball and not over-hit it. Rahul strokes it beautifully,” he added.

KL Rahul
KL Rahul. (Credits: Twitter)

For the third spot, Nasser Hussain picked Suryakumar Yadav who scored 480 runs and was one of Mumbai Indians’ main players. For the middle-order, the former cricketer-turned-commentator went with Ishan Kishan (516 runs), AB de Villiers ( 454) and Hardik Pandya (281 runs at a strike-rate of 179.98).

He picked Jofra Archer as the allrounder in the team. The England star took 20 wickets this season and also showed his big-hitting abilities. The bowling lineup consists of Rashid Khan (20 wickets), Kagiso Rabada (30 wickets), Jasprit Bumrah (27 wickets) and Trent Boult (25 wickets).

Nasser Hussain’s Team Of the Tournament:

KL Rahul (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, AB de Villiers (wk), Hardik Pandya, Jofra Archer, Rashid Khan, Kagiso Rabada, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult

Also Read: Australia’s Chief Of Selectors Assures Will Pucovski Ready For Test Series Following His Mental Health Struggles

Also Read: Younis Khan Appointed As Pakistan’s Batting Coach Till 2022 T20 World Cup