Pakistan. (Credits: Twitter)

Finally, the Pakistan Cricket Team is enjoying the home conditions in an international game, especially, against an International team. Sarfaraz Ahmed was once again asked to lead the side, however, this time, it is Misbah-ul-Haq, who will be in the dugout as a head coach.

An unbeaten century in last week’s first-class game against Khyber Pakhtunkhwa helped Mohammad Nawaz to seal the place in the ODI Squad. He used to be regular in the team but failed to survive after his poor show in Asia Cup 2018. Another notable inclusion is Iftikhar Ahmed, who showed his class in domestic cricket.

Pakistan vs Sri Lanka 2019
Mohammad Nawaz (Photo by Hagen Hopkins/Getty Images)

Apart from the duo, Abid Ali, Mohammad Rizwan and Usman Shinwari have earned recalls. Notable absentees in the squad from the one that played in Pakistan’s last ODI assignment – the 50-over World Cup – include fast bowlers Shaheen Afridi and Hasan Ali.

Pakistan Announce 16-Member ODI Squad To Face Sri Lanka At Home

There are no easy opponents in cricket – Misbah-ul-Haq

Shaheen Afridi has been laid low by a bout of dengue. Meanwhile, Hasan continues to be afflicted by a back condition besides a loss of form which cost him a place in the playing XI in the latter half of the World Cup.

Misbah-ul-Haq. Credit: Twitter

”After thorough discussions with the members of the selection committee and meticulous planning, I feel we have put together the best possible squad. These are the only 50-over matches we play this season. We want to make their optimum use. Over the course of my cricketing career, I have realised there are no easy games and there are no easy opponents in cricket,” said Misbah-ul-Haq.

The squad for the three T20Is against Sri Lanka in Lahore will be announced during the one-day series. Until then, the other players in the probable camp will continue to train at the NCA.

Recently, due to security issues, top Lanka players namely T20 skipper Lasith Malinga, former captains Angelo Mathews and Dinesh Chandimal, Suranga Lakmal, Dimuth Karunaratne, Thisara Perera, Akila Dhananjaya, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Perera and Niroshan Dickwella had decided not to visit Pakistan.

Here is the squad:

Sarfaraz Ahmed (c), Babar Azam, Abid Ali, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman. Haris Sohail, Mohammad Hasnain, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Amir. Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Shadab Khan, Usman Khan Shinwari, Wahab Riaz


I just love what I script. Over the years, Cricket has been my passion and crisping articles on it gives me an immense pleasure...Cheers...!!!