Ashwin will lead India A (Credits: BCCI)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India, on Monday (February 27), announced the squads for D B Deodhar Trophy and Irani Trophy.

Want to be a professional cricketer?
Register Now

*T&C Apply

Ravichandran Ashwin and Shreyas Iyer have been picked as skippers for India A and India B teams respectively for the D B Deodhar Trophy. The event will be held in Dharamsala from 4th March to 8th March 2018. The two teams will compete against Karnataka, the winners of the recently-concluded Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Karnataka defeated Saurashtra in the final by 41 runs to lift the title. Batting first, Karnataka rode on red-hot Mayank Agarwal’s 90 and contributions from Ravikumar Samarth and Pavan Deshpande to post 253. In reply, Saurashtra were all out for 212 with captain Cheteshwar Pujara scoring 94.

Deodhar Trophy squad:

The India A side has some exciting faces as Under-19 stars Prithvi Shaw and Shubman Gill have been included in the squad. India pacer Mohammed Shami has been named in the India A squad while Umesh Yadav will play under Iyer for India B.

R Ashwin And Shreyas Iyer To Lead In Deodhar Trophy
Shaw recently led India to Under-19 World Cup glory (Credits: Getty)

Meanwhile, the tournament will Ashwin an opportunity to showcase his white-ball skills. The off-spinner has fallen down the pecking order in India’s limited-overs side.

India A squad:

R Ashwin (c), Prithvi Shaw, Unmukt Chand, Akshdeep Nath, Shubman Gill, Ricky Bhui, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan (wk), Krunal Pandya, Mohammad Shami, Navdeep Saini, Basil Thampi, Kulwant Khejroliya, Amandeep Khare, Rohit Rayudu.

India B Squad

Shreyas Iyer (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Ankit Bawne, Manoj Tiwary, Siddhesh Lad, KS Bharat (wk), Jayant Yadav, D Jadeja, Hanuma Vihari, Siddarth Kaul, Khaleel Ahmed, Harshal Patel, Umesh Yadav, Rajat Patidar.

The selectors have also named the squad for the Irani Trophy. Karnataka star Karun Nair will lead Rest of India against Ranji Trophy champions Vidarbha. The match will be held in Nagpur from March 14-18.

R Ashwin And Shreyas Iyer To Lead In Deodhar Trophy
Jadeja did not find a place in the Deodhar Trophy squads (Credits: BCCI)

India allrounder Ravindra Jadeja has also been included in the squad. The left-arm spinner has not played international cricket since the home series against Sri Lanka. He did not play a single game in South Africa and will be looking to make a mark in the upcoming fixture. Mayank Agarwal, the highest run-scorer in this year’s Ranji Trophy, has been named along with the likes of Prithvi Shaw, Jayant Yadav, Siddharth Kaul and other big names.

Squad for Irani Trophy:

Karun Nair (c), Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, R Samarth, Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari, KS Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem, Anmolpreet Singh, Siddarth Kaul, Ankit Rajpoot, Navdeep Saini, Atit Sheth.

An avid cricket lover, I just love this game more than anything. Writing about cricket keeps me closer to the game.