Kagiso Rabada Fined for Shikhar Dhawan Send-off
(Photo credit should read GIANLUIGI GUERCIA/AFP/Getty Images)

South African speedster Kagiso Rabada was charged with 15 percent of his match fee and received one demerit point for taunting Shikhar Dhawan. The incident took place during the fifth ODI at Port Elizabeth. Meanwhile, India wrapped up the series 4-1 beating South Africa by 73 runs.

Batting first India posted 274 on the board banking on Rohit Sharma’s century. However, in reply, they restricted South Arica with 201 runs to seal the series The young duo of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal did the job for India with the ball. Virat Kohli & Co went into the record books as they became the first Indian team to win a series in South Africa.

Kagiso Rabada Fined for Shikhar Dhawan Send-off
(Credits: BCCI)

How did the incident happen:

The incident took place in the eighth over of India’s innings. Rabada bends his back and brings it into Dhawan’s body. Dhawan flat-bats that hook into the cups of Phehlukwayo at the deep backward square leg. Rabada shouted “bye” to Dhawan waved at the departing batsman which landed him in trouble.

The match officials charged Rabada under article 2.1.7, which relates to “using language, actions or gestures which disparage or which could provoke an aggressive reaction from a batsman upon his/her dismissal during an International Match.”

However, Rabada admitted his wrongdoings and accepted the sanction proposed by match referee Andy Pycroft.

Kagiso Rabada was fined by the ICC for taunting Shikhar Dhawan during the 5th ODI between India and South Africa in Port Elizabeth on Tuesday.

Rabada accumulates five demerit points:

Rabada now has five demerit points on his disciplinary record. Previously, he received three demerit points against Sri Lanka in a One-Day International on 8 February 2017. While he received another demerit point during the Lord’s Test against England on 7 July 2017.

Rabada served a one-match ban at Trentbridge during the Test series against England after he acquired four points.

Meanwhile, if Rabada reaches eight demerit points he can get suspended for again from either two Tests; one Test and two ODIs / T20Is; or four ODIs / T20Is, whichever comes first for the player.

Further, here is the newsfeed:

Ritika Sajdeh responds to Rohit Sharma’s critics in style

Watch: Virat Kohli gives AB de Villiers an animated send-off

Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli summarize India’s maiden series win in South Africa

Ankush Das

I am an accountant by qualification, my parents thought their obedient son would study further to become a CA, but I had other things in mind. An ardent Cricket fan is following his passion and making a living watching and working around his favorite sport.