Ranji Trophy 2017/18: Gautam Gambhir Reveals the Reason of Stepping Down from Captaincy

Gautam Gambhir had stepped from the captaincy of Delhi Ranji team as he wanted to give a youngster the responsibility to lead the side.

Want to be a professional cricketer?
Register Now

*T&C Apply

Gambhir wrote a letter to Justice Vikramjeet Sen and the selectors of the Delhi team, Madan Lal and Atul Wasan stating his desire to step down from the post. Gambhir criticised KP Bhaskar, coach of Delhi Ranji team and accused that young players felt insecure under him.

His conflict with the DDCA doesn’t seem to be ending anytime soon. Last year, he got sacked from captaincy in the Vijay Hazare trophy, and Rishabh Pant was appointed as the skipper of the team. This year after Gambhir’s request to assign the captaincy to a youngster, Pant was the most likely option, but he was unavailable for the early part of the Ranji season due to India ‘A’ Commitments.

A DDCA official said,

“Yes, Gambhir wrote a letter addressed to DDCA administrator Vikramajit Sen, selection committee chairman Atul Wassan and Cricket Affairs Committee (CAC) chairman Madan Lal intimating them about his decision. He made it clear that time is right for someone else to take over as he wants to play purely as a player,”  

Ishant Sharma has been appointed as the captain of the Delhi Ranji team this year. Gambhir and the coach KP Bhaskar had not been on the same page since their outburst last season. Gambhir was suspended for four games on a disciplinary basis. Bhaskar has been retained as the coach this year as well even after a poor last season. Delhi was knocked out of the Vijay Hazare tournament in the group stages last season.

Delhi will be looking forward to sorting out their issues and get the right combination this season.

Delhi Ranji Squad-:

 Ishant Sharma (captain), Gautam Gambhir, Unmukt Chand, Nitish Rana, Dhruv Shorey, Milind Kumar, Himmat Singh, Kunal Chandela, Rishabh Pant (wk), Manan Sharma, Vikas Sharma, Pulkit Narang, Navdeep Saini, Vikas Tokas, Kulwant Khejroliya.