Tamil Nadu have named a strong squad for the first two games of the upcoming Ranji Trophy, starting on December 9. They are in good form this season, having made it to the final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy and Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. On both the occasions, they lost to Karnataka and incidentally, Tamil Nadu will take on the same opposition in their Ranji Trophy-opener.

Having done extremely well so far this season, Tamil Nadu will be desperate to replicate the performance in Ranji Trophy too. They haven’t laid their hands on the prestigious trophy since 1987-88 season. Their last appearance in the final came in 2014-15 and incidentally they had lost to Karnataka that time too. Well, for the new season, Tamil Nadu have named a strong squad.

India allrounder Vijay Shankar will lead the star-studded side which also features the likes of Ravichandran Ashwin and Murali Vijay. Ashwin recently played for India in the historic day-night Test against Bangladesh while Vijay is no more a part of the Test side. The out-of-favour opener lost his place in the team last year after some poor displays.

Also Read: Virat Kohli Congratulates Newly-Wed Manish Pandey And Ashrita Shetty

Murali Vijay
Murali Vijay. (Credits: BCCI)

Shankar, on the other hand, last played for India in the World Cup when an injury ruled him out midway through the tournament. He is yet to earn a recall from the team since then. Dinesh Karthik is also a part of the team. The veteran batsman had also last played for India in the World Cup and has been in good form for Tamil Nadu this season.

Tamil Nadu will also have the services of allrounder Washington Sundar. However, Sundar will be available only from the second game as he is part of India’s T20I squad for the upcoming series against West Indies. K Mukunth will make way for Sundar in the squad from the second game.

Tamil Nadu squad:

Vijay Shankar (Captain), B Aparajith (Vice Captain), M Vijay, Abhinav Mukund, Dinesh Karthik, N Jagadeesan, R Ashwin, R Sai Kishore, T Natarajan, K Vignesh, Abhishek Tanwar, M Ashwin, M Siddharth, Shahrukh Khan, K Mukunth.