It was a special innings from the bat of Dinesh Karthik which eventually helped the Men n Blue lift the Nidahas Trophy. They won the final of the tournament by four wickets in the final delivery of the match. Karthik came into bat with India requiring 34 off 12 deliveries. Mustafizur Rahman bowled a brilliant 18th over conceding only a solitary run and bagging the crucial wicket of Manish Pandey.

However, Karthik had something different in mind as he smashed the very first ball he faced for a huge straight over the umpire’s head. He followed it up with a four and a six to get the equation down to 18 of 9 deliveries. Karthik then again struck a boundary in the final delivery of the Rubel Hossain over to get it down to 12 of the last over.

No frontline bowlers were available, and the skipper gave the ball to Soumya Sarkar. He began with a wide but came back strongly with three good deliveries conceding just two runs. Vijay Shankar finally managed a boundary in the 4th delivery to bring the calculation down to 5 of 2. Shankar was however dismissed in the very next delivery leaving India 5 to win the final delivery of the match.

Karthik kept his calm and smashed a wide length delivery of Soumya Sarkar straight over the extra cover region. It was a once in a lifetime performance from the veteran cricketer. The Man of the Match Award expectedly went to Karthik.

The Bangladesh cricketer s were utterly disappointed as a famous win eluded them by a whisker. The Men in Blue gave a lap of honour around the R Premadasa Stadium. During that lap, Team India interim skipper Rohit Sharma was seen waving a Sri Lankan flag. This tournament is being played celebrate Sri Lanka’s 70th year of independence; It was heartening to see the Indian skipper carrying the Indian flag.

Here’s the Newsfeed: 

Nidahas Trophy 2018: Rubel Hossain apologises to fans after the poor show with the ball

Nidahas Trophy 2018: Best Eleven From The Tri-Nation Series