SA vs WI: West Indies Squads For ODIs And T20Is vs South Africa Announced

West Indies National Cricket Team
West Indies National Cricket Team. Pic Credits: Twitter.

West Indies Cricket Team are all set to lock horns with South Africa for 2 Tests, 3 ODIs & 3 T20Is. The ODIs are not a part of the ICC World Cup Super League but with the ODI WC 2023 around the corner, both the teams would be aiming to find an ideal combination where the two teams have a lot to ponder.

West Indies have named a new ODI skipper in the form of Shai Hope. The West Indies fans would be hoping that the burden of captaincy doesn’t affect Hope’s game as he is someone who can bat deep & make his start count. West Indies haven’t played any competitive cricket since T20 WC 2022 debacle.

IPL 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

West Indies Announce ODI & T20I Squads

West Indies Lead Selector Dr. Desmond Haynes announced the ODI & T20I squads and revealed the selection of Shannon Gabriel.

“We have had some injuries to our fast-bowling pool so therefore we see Gabriel as an ideal fit heading into South Africa, and the surfaces we expect to play on. It is felt that we need someone to get those early wickets and he is the kind of bowler that can do that. Judging from his performances in the CG United Super50 Cup, he is potentially a wicket-taking option up front.” said Desmond Haynes.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs AUS 2023 India vs Australia 2023

“For the T20Is, we have an experienced squad. What we are looking for is to form a cohesive unit and look at the players who we believe can form the nucleus as we build towards doing very well and challenging when we host the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in June 2024.” he added.

Fascinating Contest on Cards

West Indies & South Africa both are yet to get a direct qualification for the ODI WC 2023. West Indies are placed in 8th position with 88 points whereas South Africa are in 9th position with 78 points. The ODI series is set to commence on 16th March. South Africa would be aiming to keep the winning run continue after winning the ODI series against England by 2-1.

ODI Squad: Shai Hope (Captain), Rovman Powell (Vice Captain), Shamarh Brooks, Yannic Cariah, Keacy Carty, Roston Chase, Shannon Gabriel, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith.

T20I Squad: Rovman Powell (Captain), Kyle Mayers (Vice Captain), Shamarh Brooks, Yannic Cariah, Johnson Charles, Sheldon Cottrell, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Obed McCoy, Nicholas Pooran, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith.

Also Read: MCC President Stephen Fry Lands In Deep Trouble After Allegedly Making Offensive Jokes, The Club Defends President – Reports

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Related Posts