Sarfaraz Khan Ruled Out Of Irani Cup 2023 As Finger Injury Forces Player To Pull Out

Updated - 16 May 2024, 10:53 AM

Sarfaraz Khan Irani Cup
PC: Twitter

Sarfaraz Khan, the prominent Mumbai batsman, will miss the upcoming Irani Cup 2023 match between the Rest of India and Madhya Pradesh due to a left index finger injury that he suffered while participating in the DY Patil T20 tournament, as per PTI reports. 

Sarfaraz Khan was supposed to represent the Rest of India’s team in the Irani Cup fixture, but he was unable to bat or field due to a finger injury. Currently, he is recovering at the Delhi Capitals’ training camp at Eden Gardens and was seen assisting his teammates with drinks during the game.

IPL 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

Sarfaraz Khan had a fantastic Ranji season, scoring 556 runs in six games with three centuries and an average of over 90. He has an exceptional First-Class batting average of 79.65 after featuring in 54 innings, which is second only to the legendary Don Bradman (95.14).

Irani Cup: Mayank Agarwal Likely To Lead Rest Of India

According to reports, Mayank Agarwal is expected to lead the Rest of India team in the Irani Cup 2023 match against Madhya Pradesh, starting on Wednesday at the Captain Roop Singh Stadium in Gwalior. 

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs AUS 2023 India vs Australia 2023

While the squad has not been officially announced by the BCCI, sources suggest that the team will consist of five opening batters, with Agarwal as the captain.

During the Ranji Trophy season, Agarwal finished as the leading run-scorer with 990 runs from 13 innings, recording three tons and six fifties. 

Meanwhile, the Rest of India squad also includes Bengal batters Abhimanyu Easwaran and Sudip Gharami, Mumbai opener Yashasvi Jaiswal, wicketkeeper-opener Harvik Desai, and left-arm seamer Chetan Sakariya from the Saurashtra team, which won the Ranji Trophy. Other batting options in the squad include wicketkeeper Upendra Yadav, Baba Indrajith, and Delhi skipper Yash Dhull.

Rest of India Squad: Mayank Agarwal, Sudip Kumar Gharami, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Harvik Desai, Mukesh Kumar, Atit Sheth, Chetan Sakariya, Navdeep Saini, Upendra Yadav (wk), Mayank Markande, Saurabh Kumar, Akash Deep, Baba Indrajith, Pulkit Narang, Yash Dhull.

Madhya Pradesh: Rajat Patidar, Yash Dubey, Himanshu Mantri (wk), Harsh Gawli, Shubham Sharma, Venkatesh Iyer, Akshat Raghuwanshi, Aman Solanki, Kumar Kartikeya, Saransh Jain, Avesh Khan, Ankit Kushwah, Gaurav Yadav, Anubhav Agarwal, Mihir Hirwani.

Also Read: IND vs AUS: “What He’s Been Doing Is Pretty Special” – Peter Handscomb Lauds Pat Cummins’ Dedication

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah


Irani Cup 2023 Mayank Agarwal Sarfaraz Khan Irani Cup