LPL 2020: Sudeep Tyagi Quarantining In Hambantota Ahead Of Inaugural Edition

LPL 2020: Sudeep Tyagi Quarantining In Hambantota Ahead Of Inaugural Edition

Team India, Players who represented India, Anonymous, Ranji Trophy, IPL
Sudeep Tyagi (Source: Twitter)

Retired Indian speedster Sudeep Tyagi has arrived in Sri Lanka to participate in the inaugural edition of Lanka Premier League (LPL). Sudeep Tyagi, who announced his international retirement recently, featured in four ODIs and a lone T20I international after debuting in 2009. The 33-year old will turn out for the Dambulla Hawks and is isolating in Hambantota currently.

The Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2020 seemed initially in doubt as the health authorities and Sri Lanka government had reservations about it. However, both of them gave a green light for the same and the tournament will kickstart from the 26th of November. Dambulla Hawks, Colombo Kings, Kandy Tuskers, Galle Gladiators, and Jaffna Stallions will battle for the title in the competition that concludes on the 16th of December.

Sri Lanka Cricket, Coronavirus, Sri Lanka, LKR 25 Million, England tour of Sri Lanka 2020
(Source: Twitter)

The Mahindra Rajapaksa Stadium in Hambantota will stage all the fixtures. Sudeep Tyagi took to his official Twitter handle and tweeted with a caption “Quarantined in Hambantota”.

Marquee players pull out of LPL 2020:

Chris Gayle
Chris Gayle. Credit: Getty Images

Meanwhile, the tournament has faced a massive roadblock on the verge of its commencement since some of the big names have opted out of it. Lasith Malinga, who was to play for the Galle Gladiators, has pulled out citing inadequate preparation time. From the Kandy Tuskers, Chris Gayle and Liam Plunkett opted out. Gayle and Plunkett were supposed to join the likes of Irfan Pathan, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, and Nuwan Pradeep.

Names like Carlos Brathwaite, Faf Du Plessis, Dawid Malan, David Miller, Andre Russell, Manvinder Bisla will also not play after confirming their names initially. Du Plessis, Malan, and Miller decided to opt out because of the white-ball leg between England and South Africa in November. Pakistan players like Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Hafeez, and Sarfaraz Ahmed decided not to feature in the LPL 2020 due to the tour of New Zealand, slated to take place in December.

Also Read: Shane Bond Supports The Decision To Rest Trent Boult From The T20I Series Against West Indies