Twitter reacts over no-ball incidence in the PSL
Lahore Qalandars won their second match of the season as they defeated Karachi Kings in a controversial match which was extended to the Super over.
The match ended in a very controversial manner as Qalandars who needed 15 from the last over managed to score 14. The match turned in the last over itself as Sohail Akhtar scored 12 runs off the first three balls of the over.
The next ball was a dot as the Kings affected a run out and the equation was reduced down to four off two balls.
The Qalandars managed to get a single of the fifth ball of the over which left Qalandars requiring three of the last ball of the over. The drama started then, when Akhtar was caught at long on off the final delivery of the match. Umpires to re-checked and the ball was called a no-ball.
In the meanwhile, the batsmen had completed a run but the umpires then cancelled the run as batsmen had just crossed each other when the ball was caught. The ball was declared dead and the Qalandars required 2 off the last ball which ideally should have been 1 off the last delivery.
Qalandars managed to tie the match and then won the match in the super over. However, the incidence created a lot of confusion for the players, officials and the fans who then took to Twitter to express their views about the incidence.
Here’s how Twitter reacted:
— Kumar Sangakkara (@KumarSanga2) March 11, 2018
Re last night’s controversy. Read 2.5.4 under No Balls/Umpire Reviews. It has been part of the playing conditions for many years. Crossing can happen without runs being given. Umpires did not make a mistake yesterday as far as following the playing conditions is concerned. pic.twitter.com/SMT93U00RX
— Mazher Arshad (@MazherArshad) March 12, 2018
We need 3 umpires on the ground to stop this chaos from happening. 1 umpire sole job is too watch for No Balls only.. he can stand anywhere he wants as long as he is still and not impeding play.
— Dean Jones (@ProfDeano) March 11, 2018
— Ali Zafar (@AliZafarsays) March 11, 2018
For those wondering how the run wasn't counted if it was a no ball. The play was dead as soon as the fielder took the catch because there was no on field decision for a no ball & and the no ball was seen later. Thus, nothing's counted after the play is dead. Youre welcome! #LQvKK
— Asim Azhar (@AsimAzharr) March 11, 2018
The umpires seem to have decided that the run wasn't complete when the catch was taken which was when the ball goes dead. Hence no run given.
— Ahmer Naqvi (@karachikhatmal) March 11, 2018
Although its an human error But I would give man of the match to the field umpire who responded on a no ball after third umpire's interfarence gave us all a great Climax#LQvsKK #HBLPSL3
— Aizaz Cheema (@AizazCheema) March 11, 2018
Shinwari bowling that no ball has to be the most epic PSL moment ever.
— Brashna Kasi (@Brashnaa) March 11, 2018
The two most expensive no balls in cricket history pic.twitter.com/aBWtJdf5Fi
— staxnx (@staxnx) March 11, 2018
Here’s the news feed: