Team India may have missed the opportunity to review the on-field call against Dawid Malan on the first ball of Yuzvendra Chahal’s 2nd over but luckily for them, they got a chance to rectify it on the very next delivery.
It all happened in the ninth over of the England innings when Yuzvendra Chahal literally dismissed Dawid Malan twice in successive deliveries.
Malan’s struggles against quality spin were once again exposed to the hilt in the second T20I.
The No.1 ranked T20I batsman in the world decided to nail Chahal with a reverse-sweep but ended up missing it altogether. It looked absolutely plumb in real-time but umpire Anil Choudhary adjudged it not out.
Captain Virat Kohli decided against taking the review following discussions with Rishabh Pant and Yuzvendra Chahal. It looked as if Dawid Malan had got a bit a bat on it, which was clearly not the case on replay.
Crucial review from India!
— Wisden India (@WisdenIndia) March 14, 2021
However, India weren’t left to rue their decision as Yuzvendra Chahal nailed Malan plumb in the front on the wicket.
This time, Malan failed to nail the conventional sweep. But Anil Choudhary still remained unmoved. But, unlike the previous instance, Kohli and India opted for the review, and they were vindicated as the ball tracking confirmed that the ball would have smashed the stumps.
Watch the video here: