Vijay Hazare Trophy, Schedule
The 17th edition of 2018 Vijay Hazare Trophy will start from September 19, 2018, a List A cricket tournament in India and Karnataka is the defending champions

The 17th edition of 2018 Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018 will start from September 19, 2018, in Bengaluru, a List A cricket tournament in India and Karnataka is the reigning champions.

However, there will be four teams named in Elite Group A, Elite Group B, Elite Group C, and Plate respectively.

Moreover, the inclusion of new teams is categorised under Plate group in Vijay Hazare Trophy. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has increased the total number of units to 37, with the addition of new teams like Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Puducherry, Sikkim, and Uttarakhand.

The top two teams are from Group-A, B. However, including C and the top team from the plate group advance to the knockout stage. 37 domestic cricket teams of India will contest it.

The venue for the Vijay Hazare Trophy is as follows:

Image result for vijay hazare trophy schedule 2019
Vijay Hazare Trophy schedule

The venues for the Vijay Hazare Trophy:

KSCA Cricket(2) Ground (Alur), KSCA Cricket(3) Ground (Alur), KSCA Cricket Ground (Alur), Palam A Stadium (Delhi), Palam B Stadium (Delhi), Feroz Shah Kotla (Delhi), TI Cycle Ground Murugappa (Chennai) Guru Nanak College Ground (Chennai), MA Chidambaram Stadium c GS Patel Stadium (Nadiad), Shastri Maidan (Vallabh Vidyanagar, Anand), Moti Bagh Stadium (Vadodara), M.Chinnasumwamy Stadium (Bengaluru), Sri Sivasubramaniya Nadar College of Engineering Ground (Chennai), Just Cricket Academy Ground (Bengaluru).

However, in the 16th edition of Vijay Hazare Trophy, in the first semi-final, Karnataka beat Maharashtra by nine wickets.

In the second semi-final, Saurashtra beat Andhra by 59 runs to progress. Karnataka beat Saurashtra by 41 runs to win the tournament.

Karnataka’s Mayank Agarwal scored 723 runs during the tournament and scored 2,141 runs across all formats, the highest total by any batsman in an Indian domestic season.

Moreover, the first match will be played between Baroda vs Mumbai, Round 1 of the Elite Group A at KSCA Cricket (2) Ground. The match will be held at Alur from 9:00 AM IST.

The first and second quarter-final will be played on October 14, 2018. Moreover, the third and fourth will commence on October 15, 2018.

The first semi-final is slated for October 17, 2018, and the second semi-final will be held on October 18, 2018.

However, regarding the schedule, the two teams who will win the semi-final will play against each other in the finale. The Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018 final is scheduled for October 20, 2018.

Arijit Chatterjee

An avid sports lover