Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli. (Photo: Twitter)

Last Update on: December 18th, 2019 at 04:50 pm

Stay up-to-date with the latest teams!
Join our Telegram channel and never miss a single lineup change post-toss. 🔄📢 telegram

Indian skipper Virat Kohli continued his disappointing run in the ODI series as he was dismissed on a golden duck off Kieron Pollard. Coming in to bat in the 38th over, Kohli was deceived by a slow bouncer from Pollard.

The Indian captain tried to play a pull shot but the ball took a top edge and Roston Chase made no mistake in pouching an easy catch at short midwicket. The West Indies captain was an elated man and celebrated Kohli’s wicket in style.

In the first ODI as well, the Indian skipper failed to get a big score and was dismissed on four after edging one off Sheldon Cottrell back to his own stumps. Today, with 13 overs remaining in the play, Kohli had a chance to repeat his Wankhede heroics but he disappointed once again.

Rohit Sharma, India's Predicted XI
Rohit Sharma (Credits: Twitter)

Despite him failing to open his account, India are in a strong position as they sit at 287/2 after 43 overs. Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul provided a solid start to Men in Blue by putting up 227 runs for the first wicket in 37 overs. Rahul took the charge early but Rohit accelerated later to complete his century first.

Read More  India Squad for ICC World Cup 2023, Schedule 2023, Match List, Team List

Rahul too scored a ton but was dismissed on 102 off Alzarri Joseph. Three balls later, Kohli followed the opener back in the pavilion. Looking a the current scoring rate, the home team will look to touch the mark of 350.

Interestingly, the team management stuck to the same batting order and despite 12.3 overs left, they did not promote Rishabh Pant, who is more of a T20 player. Shreyas Iyer now has the job to ensure that he either takes the charge or back Rohit to play a big knock.

Meanwhile, Kohli achieved big feat today as he became the eighth Indian player to play 400 international matches for India. Sachin Tendulkar, MS Dhoni, Rahul Dravid, Mohammad  Azharuddin, Sourav Ganguly, Anil Kumble and Yuvraj Singh are other Indians to have achieved this feat earlier.

Here is the video of Kohli’s dismissal –