Virat Kohli-Rohit Sharma Overtake Sachin Tendulkar-Sehwag Record

Virat Kohli-Rohit Sharma Overtake Sachin Tendulkar-Virender Sehwag Record

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli.
Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli. BCCI Twitter

The Indian captain Virat Kohli and his deputy Rohit Sharma went past the record of Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag on Sunday in the second ODI against West Indies. Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma added 74 runs for the second wicket partnership, which was their 32nd 50-run stand in the ODI format. Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag had managed to score 31 half-century partnership. Sourav Ganguly and Sachin Tendulkar, India’s most successful opening pair have 55 half-century stands.

Virat Kohli was the dominant partner in the second-wicket alliance. Kohli was able to get off the blocks and scored his runs from the word go. In fact, Rohit could only manage to score 18 runs in the association and Kohli did the lion share of the scoring. Consequently, the Indian vice-captain was not able to get his timing right and attempted a big shot against Roston Chase.

Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma
Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma (Credits: Getty)

Kohli and Rohit are India’s best batsmen.

Rohit could not get to the pitch of the ball and Nicholas Pooran took a good catch while running back. However, Kohli continued his sublime form going as he scored his 42nd ODI century.

During the course of his innings, Kohli also went past quite a few milestones. Firstly, the Indian skipper overtook former Pakistan captain Javed Miandad record of scoring most runs against West Indies. Miandad had amassed 1930 runs in 64 innings whereas Kohli took 30 innings fewer than the Pakistan batsman to overtake him.

Virat Kohli-Rohit Sharma Overtake Sachin Tendulkar-Virender Sehwag Record
Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag. Getty

Kohli went past a few records.

Furthermore, the talismanic batsman went past former Indian captain Sourav Ganguly’s tally of ODI runs. Ganguly had scored 11363 runs in 311 matches while Kohli needed only 238 matches to score the same number of runs.

Consequently, India cruised to convincing win of 59 runs via the Duckworth-Lewis method. Bhuvneshwar Kumar was the pick of the Indian bowlers as the swing master scalped four wickets for 31 runs. The third and final ODI of the series would be played at the same venue of Port of Spain on 14th August.

Gautam Chauhan

Cricket is my first love. I want to be a wordsmith. I want to weave magic with my words.