Watch: Varun Chakravarthy Bamboozles Sadeera Samarawickrama With A Googly
Watch: Varun Chakravarthy Bamboozles Sadeera Samarawickrama With A Googly

Varun Chakravarthy once again proved just why he is such a difficult spinner to pick as he completely bamboozled Sri Lanka’s Sadeera Samarawickrama in the ongoing second T20I in Colombo.

It all happened on the sixth ball of the 7th over when Varun Chakravarthy fired in a wrong un’.

Sadeera Samarawickrama had absolutely no clue about it as the ball went past his defenses to knock over his stumps.

Varun Chakravarthy
Varun Chakravarthy dismissed Samarawickrama [Image-Twitter]
The wicket of Samarawickrama came at a crucial time for India, who are only defending 132.

They could have had Dasun Shanaka in the very next over bowled by Kuldeep Yadav.

Shanaka, in an attempt to sweep Kuldeep, ended up missing it completely.

The Indians went up immediately but the umpire thought that Shanaka had got a bit of bat on it as he did not signal leg-bye.

The Indians decided against taking the review and it proved to be a mistake as ball tracking showed that the ball would have knocked over the middle-stump.

However, the mistake didn’t cost India much as Kuldeep Yadav got his man in his next over after Shanaka was stumped while trying to hit the leg-spinner over his head.

Sanju Samson effected a brilliant stomping given the fact that the ball was spinning down leg.

At the time of writing, Sri Lanka had huffed and puffed their way to 3/62 in 11 overs with spinners putting a stranglehold on the host batters.

Watch: Varun Chakravarthy Bamboozles Sadeera Samarawickrama With A Googly

Also Read: Twitter Reacts As Sanju Samson Once Again Perishes Cheaply 

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.