Jason Holder, Pat Cummis, ICC Test Rankings
Jason Holder (Photo by Hagen Hopkins/Getty Images)

The touring West Indies team is cleared to train in New Zealand after testing negative for Covid-19. New Zealand are set to host the West Indies for a three-T20I series, starting from November 27. It will be followed by a two-Test series which will commence from December 3 to 15.

The West Indies squad will be allowed to commence training in small groups after they all tested negative for the novel coronavirus on their initial check at their biosecure facility, New Zealand Cricket said on Tuesday.

Windies vs England 2019, Match Prediction, Jason Holder
Holder had led the Windies to beat England in the first two Tests. Image Courtesy: Getty

West Indies squad would undergo two further tests

According to New Zealand Cricket, to ensure the safety of the players, the West Indies squad will undergo two more tests on day six and day 12 before they can be released from their mandatory 14-day isolation.

Most players from the West Indies team and management arrived in New Zealand last Friday and have been in isolation in Christchurch. They spent the first three days in isolation and then return a negative test before they could begin training at NZC’s high-performance centre.

Kieron Pollard, Phil Simmons, India vs West Indies 2019
Kieron Pollard during training. Credit: Twitter

The six West Indies players participating in the IPL 2020 are expected to join the squad late next week. Coach Phil Simmons said it was likely they would be in isolation until the morning of the first Twenty20 international in Auckland on November 27.

It will be second tour for the West Indies after they visited England earlier this month.

Test Squad: Jason Holder (captain), Jermaine Blackwood, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, John Campbell, Roston Chase, Rahkeem Cornwall, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shimron Hetmyer, Chemar Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Keemo Paul, Kemar Roach

Test Reserves: Nkrumah Bonner, Joshua DaSilva, Preston McSween, Shayne Moseley, Raymon Reifer, Jayden Seales

T20I Squad: Kieron Pollard (captain), Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Andre Fletcher, Shimron Hetmyer, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Rovman Powell, Keemo Paul, Nicholas Pooran, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr, Kesrick Williams