Windies Can Go on to Win the 2019 World Cup, Claims Clive Lloyd

Published - 14 Jul 2018, 05:45 PM

Clive Lloyd
Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Table of Contents

Former Windies World Cup-winning skipper Clive Lloyd believes that Windies can go on to win the 2019 World Cup. Lloyd, who was one of the most successful captains for the Caribbean team believes that the nation needs to play all their players who are good enough.

Windies don’t play all-rounder like Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard due to their rifts with Cricket West Indies (CWI). In fact, Windies had to go through the 2018 World Cup Qualifiers in Zimbabwe – to book their World Cup spot alongside Afghanistan.

West Indies
West Indies players celebrate their 2016 World T20 win. Credits: Getty

Speaking to BBC’s Mike Williams on the Stumped Cricket podcast, Clive Lloyd said, “If they play all their players who are good enough, they can be very competitive. They can even win it, in the sense that every one-day competition we have played here, we have done well. So, there is a bit of past history as well to support them.”

Windies recently leveled the two-Test match series against Sri Lanka. In fact, they are currently leading 1-0 against Bangladesh in the two-Test match series at their backyard.

Meanwhile, Windies ODI cricket has suffered due to the perennial issues between the players and board. They have a talented group of players like Dwayne Bravo,  Pollard, and Darren Sammy in particular. Thus, it is a pity for the Windies cricket who dominated the world cricket for decades.

Chris Gayle, 2018 World Cup Qualifiers, Zimbabwe, Jason Holder
Chris Gayle. Photo Credit: AFP.

Furthermore, Lloyd who led Windies to two World Cup titles believes that Chris Gayle fitness will be crucial for the Windies. The talisman batsman has turned 39. However, the Universe Boss is still going strong with the willow.

In fact, there is no doubt that Chris Gayle is going to be instrumental to Windies World Cup hopes in the next year.  Windies had made their way into the Quarter-final of the previous edition of the World Cup in 2015.