IPL To PSL: Most Expensive Players In Each T20 League

Published - 15 Jun 2021, 12:25 PM | Updated - 27 Nov 2023, 04:27 PM

IPL To PSL: Most Expensive Players In Each T20 League
IPL To PSL: Most Expensive Players In Each T20 League

T20 cricket and the subsequent proliferation of franchise-based leagues have completely revolutionized the game. With the advent of T20 leagues like the IPL and the subsequent ones in the form of CPL, BBL, T20 Blast, PSL, BPL, there is money in the game like never before and it has helped so many cricketers, who are not in the national reckoning, earn a decent living.

Of course, the difference in paychecks offered to cricketers varies from league to league, and so does the highest sum earned by a cricketer.

Here’s a look at the highest-paid cricketers from the five top T20 leagues in the world:

Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) – Tamim Iqbal- INR 42 Lakhs

Tamim Iqbal (Image Credit- Getty)

The greatest opening batter that Bangladesh has ever produced, Tamim Iqbal, is the highest-paid cricketer in the country’s T20 League.

Tamim, who featured for Dhaka Platoons in the last edition of the BPL, was placed in A+ category,  and he fetched a price of BDT 500,000, which roughly translated to 42 Lakh Indian Rupees.

Iqbal has thus far featured for as many as five BPL teams and he has racked up a total of 2221 runs at an average of 36.40 and a strike rate of 120.96 which includes 20 50+ scores and 1 hundred.

Caribbean Premier League (CPL) – Rashid Khan – INR 81.56 Lakhs

T20 League, CPL
Rashid Khan (Image Credit- Getty)

Rashid Khan has impinged himself as one of the greatest spinners in the shortest format of the game and that explains why he is one of the most sought-after names in T20 leagues around the world.

Khan is the highest-paid cricketer in the Caribbean Premier League. The Afghan sensation fetched a price of $112,000 which roughly translates to INR 81.56 lakhs in the last edition of the CPL, where he featured for the Jason Holder-led Barbados Tridents.

Rashid Khan, who has featured for franchises like Guyana Amazon Warriors and Barbados Tridents since making his CPL debut in 2017, has claimed 25 wickets in 22 matches at an economy rate of 6.27.

Pakistan Super League (PSL) – Babar Azam – INR 1.09 Crores

Babar Azam (Image Credit- Twitter)

The former No.1 ranked T20I batter in the world, Babar Azam is also the highest-paid cricketer in the Pakistan Super League.

In the 2020 edition of the PSL, Babar Azam fetched a price of 2,30,44,000 PKR, which translates to around 1.09 Crore in Indian currency.

Babar, who has turned up for sides like Islamabad United and Karachi Kings, is also the leading run-scorer in PSL history. In 52 matches, the Pakistan captain has scored 1774 runs at an average of 41.25 albeit at a poor strike rate of 120.59.

Big Bash League (BBL) – D’Arcy Short – INR 1.89 Crore

D’Arcy Short (Image Credit- Twitter)

D’Arcy Short may have failed to emulate his domestic exploits in the international arena, but the swashbuckling Australian cricketer remains one of the hottest properties in the Big Bash League.

Having made his debut for Hobart Hurricanes in 2016, Short has smashed 2109 runs in 57 matches at an average of 40.55 and a strike rate of 138.93 which includes 18 half-centuries and 2 tons. Besides that, he has also picked up 29 wickets.

Needless to say that the swashbuckling left-hander is the highest-paid cricketer in the BBL. The only player to be placed above the $250,000 bracket, Short fetches a price of $258,900 which translates to INR 1.89 Crore.

Indian Premier League (IPL) – Virat Kohli – INR 17 Crore

Virat KohliVirat Kohli
Virat Kohli (Image Credit: Twitter)

Indian superstar and one of the greatest-ever batsman to have ever played this beautiful game, Virat Kohli is the highest-paid cricketer in the world’s most lucrative T20 league- IPL.

Kohli was racked up for Rs 1.2 Crore by the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the inaugural IPL auction in 2008 and since then, his salary, much like his performances, has witnessed a consistent upward trajectory.

The leading run-scorer in IPL history and the only cricketer to rack up in excess of 6000 runs, Virat Kohli is the only cricketer who has played for a single franchise in the last 14 seasons.

In 2018, Kohli was retained by the franchise for a whopping Rs 17 Crore, and he still remains the highest-paid player in the tournament.

Also Read- ICC World Test Championship Final: 7 Bowlers To Watch Out For


Caribbean Premier League (CPL) D'Arcy Short Indian Premier League (IPL) Pakistan Super League (PSL) Rashid Khan Tamim Iqbal Virat Kohli