Teams With Most ICC Test Championship Mace Wins (2003-2019)
Teams With Most ICC Test Championship Mace Wins (2003-2019)
Prev1 of 5

The upcoming ICC World Test Championship final between India and New Zealand will be yet another opportunity for the Virat Kohli-led unit to maintain their dominance in Test cricket but also win the coveted Test mace for the 6th time in Indian cricket history.

Before the conceptualization of the ICC World Test Championship, the No.1 ranked team at the time of the cutoff period (April) used to be awarded the coveted mace and a cash prize of 1 million dollars.

Since its inception in 2003 up until 2019, the ICC Test mace has changed hands several times.

Here’s a look at the teams with the most number of ICC Test Championship maces between 2003-2019:

England – 1

Teams With Most ICC Test Championship Mace Wins (2003-2019)
England won their first and only ICC Test mace in 2011 (Image Credit: Getty)

The English cricket team under the leadership of Andrew Strauss was on a consistent upward trajectory ever since the former opening batsman took over the reins of the side and it eventually culminated in them reaching the numero-uno spot in the ICC Test rankings in 2011.

The modus operandi of England under Strauss was simple: Bury the opposition under a mountain of runs and then unleash the like of James Anderson, Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann to knock over the opponents’ batting unit.

Under Strauss, England scripted one of their greatest-ever triumphs in their modern history as they won the Ashes for the first time in Australia after over two decades. This happened in the winter of 2010/11 when a rampaging English team beat the Ricky Ponting-led Australians 3-1

And, so with the then No.1 ranked side, India visiting the English isles in the summer of 2011, the stage was set for a face-off between the top-two Test sides in the world.

However, an ill-fated injury to Zaheer Khan on the first morning of the opening Test, lack of any substitute, and an aging batting unit on a decline coupled with England being at the peak of their powers in all departments meant India were hammered 0-4 and they were eventually upstaged by the home team from the numero-uno Test ranking spot.

For the first time in history, England became the top-ranked Test team in the world and they were awarded the coveted mace by the ICC at the end of the calendar year.

However, as they say, regaining your top spot is tougher than achieving it and that is exactly what England experienced during the course of the next 12 months.

The Strauss-led unit was thumped 0-3 by Pakistan in the UAE, drew in Sri Lanka (1-1) before their reign at the top eventually came to an end during the 2012 English summer when they lost the Test series to the Graeme Smith-led South Africa.

Also Read: Best Combined XI Of The ICC World Test Championship 2019-21

Prev1 of 5

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.