ICC World Cup 2023, ICC World Cup Points Table
ICC World Cup 2023. Image Credits: Twitter

Last Update on: May 30th, 2023 at 05:49 pm

ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule: There is absolutely no denying that the upcoming ICC World Cup 2023 is the biggest and the most-awaited competition of the ongoing year. The much-anticipated tournament is just a handful of months away.

India will be hosting the upcoming edition of the ICC World Cup 2023. While India have hosted the tournament, this is the first time they will do it alone. In the past, they co-hosted the competition with the likes of Sri Lanka, Pakistan, and Bangladesh. India are now all set to host the entire tournament all by itself.

In the past, India co-hosted the competition three times. They first co-hosted the tournament in 1987 before doing it again in 1996 and 2011. So far, 12 editions of the World Cup have taken place with the first one taking place in 1975 in England.

England are the defending champions, having won the trophy for the very first time in 2019. Australia, on the other hand, are the most successful team in the history of the competition, having won it five times. The only other teams to win the competition more than once are India and West Indies, having won it two times each.

ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule:

While the ICC usually announces the schedule for a World Cup well in advance, they are yet to do so for the upcoming edition. For the 2019 World Cup in England, the schedule was announced in April 2018. The governing body of the game is likely to announce the schedule soon.

But for the time being, we have prepared a tentative ICC World Cup 2023 schedule. As per reports, the tournament is scheduled to be played from October 5 to November 19. The first match is scheduled to be played between the winners and runners-up of the last edition, England and New Zealand respectively, at the Narendra Modi Stadium on October 5.

If the latest reports are to be believed, team India will open their ICC World Cup 2023 account against Australia, whereas the high voltage India vs Pakistan clash will take place on October 15.

ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule:

Date Matches
October 5 England vs New Zealand
October 6 Bangladesh vs Afghanistan
October 7 England vs New Zealand
October 8 India vs Australia
October 9 A2 vs A3
October 10 India vs England
October 11 Australia vs Bangladesh, Pakistan vs A2
October 12 Afghanistan vs New Zealand
October 13 Pakistan vs A3
October 14 A1 vs A2, New Zealand vs A1
October 15 India vs Pakistan
October 16 Bangladesh vs Afghanistan
October 17 New Zealand vs Pakistan
October 18 Australia vs B2
October 19 Afghanistan vs A3
October 20 England vs Bangladesh
October 21 India vs Australia, Afghanistan vs Pakistan
October 22 New Zealand vs A3
October 23 India vs New Zealand
October 25 A1 vs A3
October 26 Afghanistan vs A2
October 27 Bangladesh vs A2
October 28 India vs A1, Australia vs New Zealand
October 29 England vs Pakistan
October 30 Australia vs A3
October 31 England vs A1
November 1 India vs A2
November 2 Bangladesh vs Pakistan
November 3 Australia vs A2
November 4 India vs Afghanistan, Bangladesh vs A3
November 5 England vs A3, Australia vs Pakistan
November 7 England vs A2
November 8 India vs A3
November 9 Afghanistan vs A1
November 10 Bangladesh vs A1
November 11 India vs Pakistan, England vs Afghanistan
November 13 Bangladesh vs New Zealand
November 15 Semi-final 1 (1st vs 4th)
November 16 Semi-final 2 (2nd vs 3rd)
November 19 Final

ICC World Cup 2023 Teams:

Like the previous edition, a total of 10 teams will participate in the upcoming ICC World Cup 2023. Apart from Team India, all the other teams had to seal their spots in the tournament through different routes. The main route for qualification was the 2020–2023 ICC Cricket World Cup Super League tournament.

India as hosts and the top seven sides from the thirteen competitors in the Super League will seal their spot in the ICC World Cup 2023. The remaining five teams along with five Associate sides will then play an ICC World Cup 2023 qualifier in Zimbabwe for the remaining two spots.

So far, India, New Zealand, England, Australia, Bangladesh, Pakistan, and Afghanistan have sealed their spot in the tournament. The one remaining automatic World Cup spot will be grabbed by either South Africa or Ireland. On the other hand, West Indies, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, The Netherlands, Scotland, Oman, Nepal, USA, UAE, and either South Africa or will be playing the Qualifier for the remaining two spots.

ICC World Cup 2023 Team List:

New Zealand
TBD (Either South Africa or Ireland

ICC World Cup 2023 Format:

The format for the upcoming World Cup will be similar to the previous edition. The format of the tournament will see the teams going through a round-robin stage before making it to the knockouts. All the teams will compete against each other once in the round-robin stage.

Teams will be awarded two points for each win while a no-result will see the sides share a point each. The top four teams after the group stage will make it to the semifinals before the winners take on each other in the final.

ICC World Cup 2023 Points Table:

Pos Team Played Won Lost No Result Points NRR
1 Afghanistan 0 0 0 0 0
2 Australia 0 0 0 0 0
3 Bangladesh 0 0 0 0 0
4 England 0 0 0 0 0
5 India (H) 0 0 0 0 0
6 New Zealand 0 0 0 0 0
7 Pakistan 0 0 0 0 0
8 TBD 0 0 0 0 0
9 TBD 0 0 0 0 0
10 TBD 0 0 0 0 0