T20 World Cup
T20 World Cup 2021 launch. (Photo: Twitter)

The Decision Review System (DRS) is all set to make its first appearance in the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021, which is scheduled to begin in Oman and United Arab Emirates ( UAE ) on October 17 and end on November 14.

Recently, the International Cricket Council (ICC) approved DRS usage in the T20 World Cup 2021 tournament. As per reports of ESPNcricinfo, each team will get a maximum of two reviews per innings.

T20 World Cup 2021
Jay Shah at the launch of the T20 World Cup trophy. (Credit: Twitter)

Meanwhile, the qualifier round of T20 World Cup 2021 will begin on October 17 and will end on October 22. Adding to it, from the next day, which is October 23, the Super 12 round will start and end on November 8.

Additional Decision Review System ( DRS) Reviews Introduced Due To Covid-19 Pandemic

ICC T20 World Cup 2021
ICC T20 World Cup 2021 (Image Credit: Twitter)

In June last year, the CEC has confirmed that teams will be given an additional unsuccessful DRS review in each innings of a match. This “decision was taken keeping in mind that there may be less experienced umpires on duty” during the pandemic era.

So, in One Day Internationals (ODIs) and T20 Internationals, teams used to get two unsuccessful appeals per innings and three unsuccessful appeals per innings in Test cricket.

ICC Women's T20I World Cup Qualifier Europe
ICC Women’s T20I World Cup Qualifier Europe. Image Credits: Twitter

The Decision Review System was never part of men’s T20 World Cups as the review system was not applicable in the T20s in 2016 when the last world cup was held where West Indies defeated England to win the trophy. However, the Decision Review System was applicable in the women’s T20 World Cup, which took place in 2018 and 2020.

Also Read: Delhi’s Bowling Attack Is Going To Ask Chennai A Lot Of Questions, And They Can Destroy Them – Brian Lara