Jos Buttler, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, India vs England 2nd T20I
Bhuvneshwar Kumar celebrates Jos Buttler's wicket. (Credits: Twitter)

Last Update on: September 14th, 2021 at 06:15 pm

Prev1 of 4

The highly anticipated ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is scheduled to begin from October 17 in United Arab Emirates (UAE) & OMAN and will end on November 14. The tournament was scheduled to begin in India but was shifted to UAE and OMAN due to the Covid-19 scare in the country.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has divided teams into two Groups for the Super 12 Stage and Two Groups for the Qualifier stage of T20 World Cup 2021.

Notably, There are a total of 8 teams that have made entry into the T20 World Cup 2021 Super 12 stage through direct qualifications, and the remaining 4 teams will be decided after the qualifier stage.

In the already qualified teams, Group 1 which is also known as ‘Group Of Death’ consists of England, Australia, West Indies, and South Africa. Meanwhile, Group, 2 consists of India, Pakistan, New Zealand, and Afghanistan.

In this article, we will find out who exactly are the top 4 teams that can make the cut into the knockout stage of the marquee event. Notably, the first semi-finals will commence in Abu Dhabi on November 10 and the second semi-final will be played in Dubai on 11 November. Also, both semi-finals have reserve days.

4 Teams Which Can Qualify For The Knockout Stage Of ICC T20 World Cup 2021

New Zealand

Kane Williamson
Kane Williamson (Image Credit: Getty)

Team New Zealand are the underdogs that outshine the tournament favorites in the big ICC events. Recently the Kane Williamson and co. were able to win the International Cricket Council (ICC) World Test Championship (WTC) by defeating Team India. Also, they have been very consistent in limited-overs cricket as well.

The New Zealand national cricket team under the leadership of Kane Williamson has won 4 back-to-back T20I series. However, in absence of Williamson and few other big players New Zealand faced a defeat against Bangladesh by 3-2.

Meanwhile, with the return of big names, the Blackcaps will be a force to reckon with. The 15-member squad of New Zealand is pretty strong and they are placed in a comparatively less competitive group which means they have high chances of making it into the knockout stage of the T20 World Cup 2021.

Prev1 of 4

Sonanchal Gautam

A Professional Wrestling And Hip-hop Enthusiast, Who Is Focused On Writing Cricket-related Stuff 6 Days A Week.