Sri Lanka's Squad For ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Announced
Sri Lanka's Squad For ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Announced. Image Credits: Sri Lanka Cricket

Last Update on: September 12th, 2021 at 12:41 pm

ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Sri Lanka Announces 15-Member Squad For The Tournament. Team Sri Lanka has revealed their 15-member squad which will be competing in the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021 tournament which is scheduled to begin on October 17 and will end on November 14. Notably, the Marquee event was scheduled to begin in India but now it has been shifted to United Arab Emirates ( UAE) and OMAN due to the COVID-19 scare in the country.

The T20 World Cup 2014 champions Team Sri Lanka was unable to get direct qualification for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021 and they will have to go through a qualifier stage to play the Super12 round against the already qualified teams.

Notably, Sri Lanka National Cricket Team is placed in the Group A of the qualifier stage alongside Nambia National Cricket Team, the Netherlands National Cricket Team, and Ireland National Cricket Team.

Dasun Shanaka
Dasun Shanaka [Image-Twitter]
Sri Lanka has witnessed have a big downfall in international cricket and they have been involved in several controversies. Things have not been good for Sri Lanka on the field as well off the field. Recently 3 players of Sri Lanka cricket got banned due to a bio-bubble breach. Also, the cricketers and board were not on the same page and the players were upset with Sri Lanka Cricket.

T20 World Cup
Sri Lanka Team (Image Credit: Getty)

In the last 5 T20I series they have played, Sri Lanka has won only one that too against Team India’s B team. Meanwhile, under the captaincy of Dasun Shanaka’s team Sri Lanka is gaining back momentum and they will be hoping for a better outcome in the T20 World Cup once again.

Meanwhile, the squad announced by Sri Lanka was approved by the Minister of Youth and Sports Honorable Namal Rajapaksa.

Sri Lanka’s Squad For The Upcoming T20 World Cup 2021 Event

Sri Lanka's Squad For ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Announced
Sri Lanka’s Squad For ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Announced. Image Credits: Sri Lanka Cricket

Dasun Shanaka – Captain, Dhananjaya De Silva – Vice Captain, Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kamindu Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Praveen Jayawickrema, Lahiru Madushanka, Maheesh Theekshana

Traveling Reserves: Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, Pulina Tharanga

Also Read;  IPL 2021 – Star Sports Unveils English And Hindi Commentary Panel For The TournamenT

Sonanchal Gautam

A Professional Wrestling And Hip-hop Enthusiast, Who Is Focused On Writing Cricket-related Stuff 6 Days A Week.