IPL Trophy
IPL Trophy (Image Credit: Twitter)

The Star Sports network has released the list of the English and Hindi commentators panel for the second leg of the IPL 2021 to be held in UAE. The season begins with Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians (MI) taking on MS Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings (CSK) at the Dubai International cricket stadium.

The attention has shifted from the longest format of the game to the shortest, now that India’s tour of England has been cut short abruptly. Team India’s Test team was supposed to leave England after the Manchester Test, but it has been cancelled which allowed them to be flown out 9 days out away from the resumption of the IPL.

Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli
MI captain Rohit Sharma and RCB captain Virat Kohli (Image Credit: Twitter)

The preparations for the biggest league in the world have begun in full flow with Star Sports unveiling the commentary panel for the tournament on Saturday. The official broadcasters responded to fans’ queries on Twitter, letting them in on the stalwarts who will be commentating during the UAE leg.

Former players Irfan Pathan and Gautam Gambhir are the prominent members of the Hindi panel. Jatin Sapru is likely to be heading the group as he has done before for the IPL. As for the English box, the usual names like Sunil Gavaskar, Alan Wilkins, Ian Bishop, and Simon Doull will be involved. Harsha Bhogle, who anchored the Sony Sports’ show for India’s tour of England, will reprise his role as the lead.

Ian Bishop
Ian Bishop (Image Credit: Twitter)

As things stand in IPL 2021

The UAE will host the remaining 31 matches of the truncated IPL 2021 season. It will resume on September 19 and go on till October 15. The qualifiers will begin on October 10 and the final is set to be played on October 15 in Dubai.

Delhi Capitals (DC) lead the table with six wins out of eight games. CSK and RCB are on second and third spots, each coming out victorious in five games out of seven. The reigning champions MI are the last side in the top-4 qualifying places, and things are unlikely to change unless the bottom-half starts performing brilliantly.

India, IPL 2021
Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan [Image-IPLT20]
Shikhar Dhawan leads the way for the batsmen, scoring 380 runs in 8 matches and he holds the orange cap. KL Rahul comes in a close second, with 331 runs from seven matches. Both have been excellent for their sides at the top and will continue to hold the aces going into the second leg.

RCB’s Harshal Patel scripted an incredible first-half, only marred by a 37-run over, where he claimed 17 wickets in seven matches including a fifer against MI. Avesh Khan of DC has been the most consistent bowler in the tournament, conceding at 7.70 rpo while picking up 14 wickets in 8 games.

Also Read – IPL 2021: SunRisers Hyderabad Announce Replacement After Jonny Bairstow Pulls Out Of UAE Leg