T20 World Cup 2021, Match 42: India vs Namibia – Toss Report
T20 World Cup 2021, Match 42: India vs Namibia – Toss Report

India and Namibia will meet for the last Super 12 match of the T20 World Cup 2021 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Monday.

Although the game itself is a dead rubber with both teams out of the semi-final race, both sides would want to put up a show for their fans. The Indian team in particular will be looking to give a victory farewell to Virat Kohli as the T20I captain and the outgoing coaching staff, headed by Ravi Shastri.

Namibia have earned high applauds in the tournament with their valiant performances. They won two out of three matches in the qualifying round, before defeating Scotland in the Super 12, but suffered three consecutive losses – although they did manage to trouble New Zealand for a while with the ball.

India National Cricket Team
Virat Kohli will lead India for the last time in T20Is. Image Credits: ICC

This is the first T20I encounter between India and Namibia; they have also only faced each other once in ODIs – during the 2003 World Cup.

A victory for India won’t really mask the problems they have had, but a win for Namibia will do a world of good for the sport in the country and once again assert the significance of matches between Full Members and Associates.

Virat Kohli is likely to ring a few changes – Rahul Chahar hasn’t played a game so far in the tournament – and Namibia might welcome back Jan Frylinck, who missed the last game due to dehydration.

T20 World Cup 2021, Match 42: India vs Namibia – Toss Report

India win the toss and elect to field first against Namibia.

T20 World Cup 2021, Match 42: India vs Namibia – Playing XI Details:

India Playing XI:

KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (C), Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (Wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Rahul Chahar

Namibia Playing XI:

Stephan Baard, Michael Van Lingen, Gerhard Erasmus (C), Zane Green (Wk), David Wiese, JJ Smit, Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton, Craig Williams, Ruben Trumpelmann, Jan Frylinck, Bernard Scholtz

Also Read: Indian Batters Could Not Deliver What Was Expected Of Them: Sunil Gavaskar