Oman Cricket Team
Oman Cricket Team. Image Credits: Twitter

Oman, one of the venues for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2021, announced its 15-member squad for the ICC tournament in which they will be playing in the first round in order to qualify for the main draw. The tournament is staged to be played from October 17 to November 14 and will be held in Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and Sharjah apart from Oman.

Oman was recently seen in action against the Mumbai state team in a one-day series and T20 series. This was expected to help the side for preparing for the World Cup. Pankaj Khimji, the chairman of Oman Cricket, extended his gratitude to the Mumbai Cricket Association for sending the team as he asserted that it assisted the side to prepare well.

Oman Announces 15-Member Squad For The T20 World Cup 2021
Oman cricket team. (Credits: Twitter)

“Mumbai was the perfect antidote that we required to give us a jolted start in terms of our preparation one and you need a tough team to get the best out of you. You playing a mediocre team and saying well let the boys warm up, that is not how it works. I am indebted to the MCA (Mumbai Cricket Association) for sending its team here,” he said.

Zeeshan Maqsood Named Captain Of The Oman T20 World Cup Team

The squad will be led by the veteran Zeeshan Maqsood and includes the core group of the experienced line-up that helped them excel in the Qualifying tournament in UAE in 2019. Oman tasted the top level of T20I cricket in 2016 when they made the first round of the T20 World Cup in India.

Zeeshan Maqsood Named Captain Of The Oman T20 World Cup Team. Photo- Twitter
Zeeshan Maqsood Named Captain Of The Oman T20 World Cup Team. Photo- Twitter

Oman is placed in Group B, alongside Bangladesh, Scotland, and Papua New Guinea and will be aiming for a top-two finish and make it into the Super 12 round.

Oman Cricket took it to their social media to share the announcement of their squad. They captioned the post as: “SQUAD ANNOUNCEMENT Here is our 15-member squad which will compete in the @iccworldt20!.”

Here is the Oman T20 World Cup 2021 squad: Zeeshan Maqsood (c), Aqib Ilyas (vc), Jatinder Singh, Khawar Ali, Mohammad Nadeem, Ayaan Khan, Suraj Kumar, Sandeep Goud, Nester Dhamba, Kaleemullah, Bilal Khan, Naseem Khushi, Sufyan Mehmood, Fayyaz Butt, Khurram Khan

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2021: Chief Selector Chetan Sharma Reveals Why Ravichandran Ashwin Is Included In India Squad